Book Review: Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews

Book Review

In fulfillment to my Fangirl Corner post, I am to review books from male authors and books written in a guy’s perspective. This is quite exciting. And also, I have this weird thing of doing reviews when I’m supposed to be programming. But I’ll figure that out later. It’s technically the reason why I was gone again most of the week.

Onto the review!


Book

9781742378343

Synopsis:

Greg Gaines is the last master of high school espionage, able to disappear at will into any social environment. He has only one friend, Earl, and together they spend their time making movies, their own incomprehensible versions of Coppola and Herzog cult classics.

Until Greg’s mother forces him to rekindle his childhood friendship with Rachel.

Rachel has been diagnosed with leukemia—-cue extreme adolescent awkwardness—-but a parental mandate has been issued and must be obeyed. When Rachel stops treatment, Greg and Earl decide the thing to do is to make a film for her, which turns into the Worst Film Ever Made and becomes a turning point in each of their lives.

(via Goodreads)

The Review:

To be honest, I would have never known about this book if not for the Buzzfeed list that suggested books that can cure your TFIOS hangover. And to be REALLY honest, it kinda cured it but not entirely.

The main character, Greg Gaines, is funny. I like his sense of humor. But I don’t like how he rambles about stuff that is not funny. I like how he feels about film and how tries to make one. At least he has some equipment and a buddy who films with him. He should be really thankful that he has someone. He is a keen observer and someone who beautifully develops throughout the story. He grows up. You can feel it in the tone of the book. Greg may say that he’s not serious, but he really is. Well, not all the time but at some point.

But even though Greg is kind off d*ckhead, he sits next to Charlie of The Perks of Being A Wallflower and Craig of It’s Kind of A Funny Story on my YA protagonists imaginary bookland. Bit weird but yes, Greg is that book character. He starts off like every normal YA teenager in the book and he flourishes into this young man who is more mature but still ultimately a slacker. Procrastinators unite! In my defense, I like that kind of character. I mean yes, you grow up and you have to give up some things in life but it doesn’t hurt to be childish once in a while.

Although I would have to say that the scene stealer in this book is none other than Earl Jackson, Greg’s “co-worker”. Earl is such a badass character. He makes Greg realize how much of a man he is and how he must learn how to get his feelings out. Earl may sound very… wild, but he is just the best. Greg, you blind moda-ef***. Imma poke your eyes out. No, that’s not a quote and I presumed that you read that with Earl’s voice in your head. He talks real, he sounds tough, but he’s got a soft heart. He cares about his mom very much which is very much the opposite of Greg’s situation. Seriously, Greg Gaines must realize that Earl’s a keeper. If you haven’t read this book, I think you might have to prepare yourself before you meet Earl. He came at me strong but I guess it depends on the reader if they will take on Earl or they soften him a little before continuing on.

And then there’s Rachel. The dying girl. Well… I have no words for Rachel. Greg cracks her up. She’s dying and she makes Greg think a lot. For her sake and she probably messed with his head. You will or will not sense something, but Greg and Rachel have this something that Greg immediately breaks just after you read like a pseudo-romantic moment. But then, who cares. OTP ❤
Author

Screen-shot-2014-06-03-at-12.22.09-PM

Jesse Andrews is now sitting on a lovely throne right next to Stephen Chbosky on my author’s imaginary land. I love his writing style very much because it’s like how I will want to write a book. It defied certain rules and the movie dialogue just made very easy for me to imagine my own setting. For example, a scene with Greg and Rachel talking made me imagine an easy setting in Rachel’s room full of Hugh Jackman posters. The film script-like writing is creatively plotted in. And practically everyone can talk with a Greg voice in their head. Yay, I found another auto-buy author. The deal is sealed.

If it’s not already very obvious, I liked this book very much and I will want to read again. But next time, as a physical copy. I am dying to locate one because I don’t see the book on the shelves of the bookstores near me. I want my own copy so bad. L The book deserves more love people!

I don’t even. Rating this book:

Stars

And if not the more obvious: Definitely, much more easier to reread if you have a physical copy. I mean, who doesn’t want the book on their shelf. The cover is just so pretty.


Yup, I am definitely back… Just don’t tell my programming professor. Sshh…

But until then,

Brb

6 thoughts on “Book Review: Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews

Leave a Reply

