Random Recommendations: Dream Cast for YA Male Leads

Recs

You know that feeling while reading a certain book, you imagine someone perfect for the role that you just go on full fangirl overload? For sure, it makes your reading experience a whole lot more exciting. You’re not dealing with blank faces anymore. Your mind generated the perfect human being who can play the role.

Since I cannot stop obsessing over male leads, (Made a book club, most of books reviewed are generally books with male leads… you get the idea right?) I wanted to share who I imagined for the part of my favorite male leads, if ever their book gets made into a movie. But in all honesty, why hasn’t Hollywood made these fantastic books into movies yet? I mean, come on.

Onto the recommendations!

Side note #1: I may or may not have stalked IMDB’s list of actors under the age of 30. You did not read anything….

Side note #2: No, I did not want to cast Logan Lerman on every one of these guys. #sarcasm

(Apparently, this has become a staple thing in my blog and I am just laughing at it.)

Linebreak

Leonard Peacock (Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock)

Emory Cohen

Edit1
original image via @HOLLYWOOD

This guy popped out of nowhere. I was actually done reading the book, and Leonard had this blank face in my head the whole time. So when I saw Emory Cohen, I immediately screamed “Oh my goodness! That’s Leonard Peacock.” He shaved his head, and it was like I saw Leonard manifested on the screen. He has stared in Brooklyn alongside Saoirse Ronan (the girl from the movie adaptation of The Host) I have no idea what Channing Tatum is waiting for. Cast this guy already and make the movie already.

Here he is in Brooklyn:

Linebreak

Ezra Faulkner (The Beginning of Everything)

Taron Egerton

Edit2
original image via Tumblr

This may have been caused by my obsession over Kingsmen while reading the book. Taron was a fresh face, and he immediately made a smashing entrance with the aforementioned movie. So while I was reading The Beginning of Everything, all I had mind was Taron Egerton playing the broody Ezra Faulkner. He’d be fit as a tennis player, and as Ezra after the accident. Gosh, it made my reading experience a whole lot better.

Need I say more with this clip?

Linebreak

Miles “Pudge” Halter (Looking For Alaska)

Kodi Smit-McPhee

Edit3
original image via Jay L. Clendenin / L.A. Times

I finally knew Nightcrawler’s name! I saw this guy when he was on Romeo and Juliet. And then I was surprised that he played Nightcrawler on the newest X-Men movie. When I think of Pudge, I think of tall people. I never understood what he looked like so I assumed he’s tall, pretty darn cute, and chill. Kodi looks like my friend who is hella chill all the time, plus he looks like someone who would fall hard for Alaska (calling dibs on Kaya). Hopefully, they will consider making that Alaska movie now.

Here he is in All The Wilderness:

Linebreak

Theodore Finch (All The Bright Places)

Nick Robinson

Edit4
original image via Tumblr

He’s just perfect! It’s that unique eureka moment where everything falls into place. Nick Robinson already starred in a movie called Kings of Summer, and it was an instant fave for me. It was an indie young adult film, and I’ve been calling dibs on him since. His performance was quite angsty and rebellious! Now he has a new movie coming up, and I must say that my hunches where right. The part was made for him.

While stalking searching, I saw the trailer for Being Charlie. Then I went through the comments section and I was surprised when I saw this:

whoa

Coincidence? I think not. I think that movie proves that he is Finch material. *crossing my fingers that he will play Finch* He can be goofy, I know of it!

So here’s the clip from Kings of Summer:

Linebreak

Park Sheridan (Eleanor and Park)

Yoo Seung Ho

Edit5
original image via daebakkpop

To be honest, I had a hard time finding the perfect actor who I would know would kill and slay the role of Park Sheridan. I was about to give up, and then I searched for K-Dramas. Well since Park is Korean, I dared not to stray. Yoo Seung Ho was a lucky strike. He has a colorful background and it is just amazing to have stumbled upon him. This guy was so cute with the cat. And he was all derpy, and ridiculously cool. I guess I have a new series to watch now. But I swear he screams “Park”.

So brb, let me binge watch this series:

Linebreak

Bonus!

Zander (All The Feels)

Zachary Gordon

Edit6
image via joblo.com

Yes, he was Greg from Diary of A Wimpy Kid. Yes, he’s all grown up now. And yes, he’s perfect for the role of Zander! Liv would totally get all the feels if she has a Zander like Zach. Plus, imagine him in cosplay? Wimpy kid no more. 🙂

Linebreak

So what do you think? Should I make a part two? Hollywood should really hire me as a casting director already. (Semi-kidding.)

How about you? Who would you cast in those roles on this list? Who should I include on the next list? Share your thoughts and let’s fangirl over those people together!

Brb

P.S. Yes, I edited those photos. Original photographer credits/ site taken captioned on the respective photos.

15 thoughts on “Random Recommendations: Dream Cast for YA Male Leads

  1. Great post, Bianca! Emory Cohen is cuuuute. I haven’t seen Brooklyn yet but it’s SO HIGH on my to-watch list — it seems like my kind of movie.

    I also love Taron Egerton, especially in Kingsman. And Kodi Smit-McPhee has such a unique face! He kind of reminds me of a younger Cumberbatch — kind of lanky, really skinny, really angular face.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have plans on watching Brooklyn as well, but I did search some movies starring Emory Cohen. I forgot the title but it had a Leonard Peacock vibe to it. 🙂 Plus Taron as Eggsy in Kingsman is just proof of amazing casting. I didn’t quite notice that on Kodi, but in some angles he could be mistaken as a Cumberbatch ^_^

      Like

  2. I never considered Nick Robinson to play Finch but it’s probably because I never think about actors whenever I read books… but now that I’ve seen that clip, it makes me want Nick Robinson to play Finch. Now I’ll have like two perfectly great reasons to watch the movie: (1) ’cause the book is my fave, and (2) ’cause Nick Robinson ❤ lol

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

