January Wrap-Up + February TBR

 

Wrap-Up

Goodbye January, hello February! As much as I hate to say it, but January is already over. I mean come on! Why did you have to come by so fast? I don’t want to take my final exams yet!ย You were a good month, January. I was so productive, even without a new year’s resolution. But darn, I actually smell a hiatus in February. Even though I am only practically on the verge of my 2nd year, I already have my thesis. And I am already panicking. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Nonetheless, January gave me a lot of books to read during my spare time and it was delightful just to stare at them. But, I am not proud of the things that I have done with a certain books.



Books In The Freezer aka February TBR

25639296ย ย 51+ju5dmOiL._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_ย ย Harry_Potter_and_the_Sorcerer's_Stone

Funny_Story_front

The Darkest Corners by Kara Thomas

I believe my e-book sickness has been cured thanks to this book. I just cannot put this book down. Literally, my phone needs to be charged 24/7 just for this one. I am too lucky to be granted an ARC by NetGalley! โค

The Academy: Alignment by David Davis and Andra St. Ivanyi

Definitely one of the books that I hope can satisfy my craving for fantasy.

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

This is the first read of the Fanboy Book Club! I am so excited to finally discuss it with people!

It’s Kind of A Funny Story by Ned Vizzini

I’m actually halfway through this baby already. I have been wanting read it before I got into book blogging but it was only available at Fully Booked so I never got the chance to request for it. And now I have it, I’m just gobbling it up. I am in love with Craig and all of his imperfections.



Books I Read

download (2)ย ย f8a1510d-ea30-4afb-a381-546e0aa04f7fย ย 3097601

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

Rating:

Stars 2 blah

I know a lot of you guys love this series so much. But I don’t think my reading experience with this book was healthy and very… primeval in the sense. It’s not that I didn’t like it because I was infatuated with the writing style. It’s just that the characters were really frustrating me. Except for Kenji and James. Because they make the sense happen.

Slippery Things by Lane Baker

Rating:

Stars 3 blah

Read my full review here

It was a refreshing read, but it lacked certain qualities that did not hook me up that much. I loved the family aspect and genuity of the heroine though.

Suicide Notes by Michael Thomas Ford

Rating:

Stars 4 blah

Okay, I’ll just let it out. This book deals with certain that I cannot fathom with. The book made me realize some things, but it also hooked me up so bad that Jeff started to go to my head and let me be. I don’t regret knowing about the book for so long and but never reading the blurb properly. Jeff had a really nice voice for a character, which proves my point on why I’ve always loved male leads. Also, sneak peek. This book deals with LGBT topics. Although, I don’t really advise younger readers to read it. While I was reading, I had to double-check if I was 18. Luckily, I am. ๐Ÿ˜€



Book Haul

IMG_7031


Book Reviews

23734628ย ย f8a1510d-ea30-4afb-a381-546e0aa04f7f

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

Slippery Things by Lane Baker


ย Well that’s a wrap everyone! I’m just here crossing my fingers and I am praying so hard because I really want to read and ace my finals all at the same time. Hope you had a lovely January ๐Ÿ˜€

Brb

15 thoughts on “January Wrap-Up + February TBR

  1. It’s Kind Of A Funny Story is one of my favourite books and I’m so happy to see that you’re enjoying it! I think with Ned Vizzini, himself, suffering from depression and spending time in a psychiatric ward helped to make the book so much more realistic and I personally could relate a lot to the book which in a sense helped me a lot! I hope you enjoy the rest of the book and look forward to reading about what you thought of it!! :’)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know. Luckily the copy I bought had a foreword. I was actually shocked when I heard about Ned Vizzini’s passing. Reading his legacy is one way of honoring him, I think. And it’s just beautiful. I’ll make sure to mention you if I ever make a review. ๐Ÿ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Sounds like you had a good January! I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy Shatter Me – I don’t think I would enjoy the first if I read it now, either. I’d definitely recommend persevering with the series though, because the final book is fantastic! I’m glad you’re finally getting to read It’s Kind of a Funny Story, too. I really liked that book! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Denise | The Bibliolater

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes I did enjoy my January. ๐Ÿ™‚ I was actually reading the second book already. But then my twin and I decided to hold it for a little while. I hope that when I see the second book again at the library, I’ll give it another shot. But on the subject of the trilogy’s last book, I kind off predicted what was going to happen so I’m on a boat of hesitation.

      Like

  3. I can’t believe it’s February either!!! Like how?!? Oooh I have It’s Kind of a Funny Story on my TBR but I haven’t read it yet. I hope you enjoy it! Ooooh your book haul from this month is super pretty โค

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

