The Ultimate Quarterly Wrap-Up (January-March 2017)

Wrap-Up Quarterly

I can only tell you that life is unpredictable. But here I am, and I’m rolling over stuff like a cinnamon roll. How long has it been since I posted a wrap-up? I have not posted one since… oh god who knows? Eh. Who cares anyways? As long as I am happy with books, and anime, and manga, and my other fandoms, then it’s the only thing that matters.

In that chaos, I have decided to mesh my wrap-ups into quarterly posts, hence my wrap-ups will only appear four times every year now. I was having a hard time balancing with posting a wrap-up every month, so here’s to hoping that this one will work more efficiently. I will be also be including every ‘else’ in my wrap-ups. It could be a new series, newly discovered music, or a new obssession. Fangirling done right. So if you’re looking for a post that you have to sit through, then you’re probably going to need popcorn because this is going to be a while. Now let’s start!

Wrap-Up (January)

January has been a rollercoaster ride and that is just the first month of 2017 for you. It has been exhausting, exhilarating, exhausting, and exciting. (Yes, I am aware that I said exhausting twice.) I wouldn’t say that it is the loveliest of all the months, and it was a pretty upbeat start.

Wrap-Up - Books

I have read 6 books in January, and I have to say that I am impressed because I generally read 4 books every month.

Also me: But self, aren’t majority of those short stories?

Ugh, me from the past. Can we just agree to disagree? Short book or not, let’s list down the books.

The Young Elites by Marie Lu – I found it interesting but I was honestly torn because I seem to have a love-hate situation with the writing style. But this book has intrigued me enough to continue on with the series.
newRating3half

Break-Up Anniversary by Dawn Lanuza – It was short and sweet, but I was expecting a little bit more. I wish it had a full story, but “I mean duh, self. It was a short story, you cynical nerd.”
newRating4

We Go Together by Carla de Guzman – The book was a light and fluffy read, but I had a few issues regarding the pacing and the overall execution. I don’t know much about Much Ado Nothing by Shakespeare, but it was an interesting take. Maybe I just had a hard time imagining what DC looked like?
newRating3

Someday With You and other stories by Ines Bautista-Yao – Charming, heartbreaking, and reminds me of slice of life animes. Each story had a unique tweak on it, and it was definitely fun to read each one. Plus, how can I not resist this one? All of the stories are spearheaded by Filipino male MCs! About time I read about guys from my own country. I gushed about it in my full review [here].

newRating4

The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli – How do I say this? I was choking and sobbing at 3 am while rendering our thesis. I have never been extremely jealous with a character before Molly Peskin-Suso came into the picture. My feels are with this book. Full review coming to you this April! I am so excited.
newRating4half

Amazing Facts and Figures Every Pinoy Must Know by Filipiknow – Informative for just about anyone. If one’s not into history but wants to read about badass stories, then you have come to the right place. Look, I’m just a simple history nerd. This book is gorgeous, informative, and straight to the point.
newRating4half

Wrap-Up - Series

Yuri On Ice – The definition of perfection because it is just the coolest thing ever. Even real-life figure skaters adore it. That is how good this anime is.
One Punch Man – You may think that I will fall in love with Genos, but no. I freakin love Saitama. I would marry that dude in a heart beat.
Class – I only watched one episode but it looks so darn good. This may or may not make me watch Doctor Who.
Mr. Robot – My brain cells hurt when I saw this guy hacking into systems, and I was pretty bummed out because it reminded me a lot of that one subject where I hated everything. I think it was assembly. Still a pretty good show, but I stopped. I don’t know why either.

Wrap-Up (February)

I had no time to breathe in February. I did not pick up a single book. It was the month of our last defense. I am so done with my thesis. But of course, that one will bite me later. On the side note, I may not have read anything, but I did get the chance to meet some of my favorite people on the internet.

Last February 18, I got to meet some #romanceclass authors for their #SparkNA releases. I finally got to meet Carla de Guzman,  Dawn Lanuza, and C.P. Santi. I even had my books signed yay! I also met blogger senpais at the event namely Kate from The Bookaholic Blurbs, and Sab from The Book Eater. I also saw Dianne from Oops, I Read A Book Again at the event.

I hope I could share more, but I decided to fully recap after the more feels event this coming April. Soon! ❤

Wrap-Up - Series

Riverdale -Despite being busy, I made time for Riverdale. Archie is basically my childhood, so I live for this series.
A Series of Unfortunate Events – Watched the first episode and I’m all “Eh. Maybe in another time.”
Horrible Histories – I binge watch this every time my exams are getting near. Instead of reviewing, I binge watch all of the 5 seasons.

Wrap-Up (March)

March was that point in my life where it has been messy. One day, I was posting non-stop and then suddenly schoolworks like projects, exams, and thesis approvals hit me in the face and then BAM! I have been practically gone for the whole March after posting non-stop for a week since my hiatus. It was then that I thought that the wrath of my academe is over, but little did I know that the worst was yet to come. Don’t worry, I overcame the final wave, and it’s time to put all of those things behind us.

On the bright of every little happy thing, I have so much love for March because after my finals, I finally had the time to read all of the books.

Wrap-Up - Books

Goodbye Days by Jeff Zentner – I had too many tears for Blade and his crew. This book tore me apart and built me back up again. I mean, I don’t even know how to fully describe this book coherently in my review. But yes, a lot of feels were involved. Review [here].

newRating4half

History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera – Again, another tear gushing book. I swear, I could fill a bucket with my tears. I just love every character in this book, and I want to hug them all. Full gush [here].

newRating4half

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saénz –  It was my first time to read from an audio book where I tried my best to fight my will to not sleep. I loved every bit, like it was my first time to read Ari and Dante again. Lin-Manuel Miranda as a narrator was spot on. Why can’t we have more audio books read by him???

newRating5

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo – Where do I even begin with this book? It was amazing, stunning, bloody well done, gorgeous, stupendous, magnificent, ridiculously spontaneous, sinister, and magical. I love everything about it, and I love to hate all of the dregs. Every single one of them is precious. I am not even sorry of dropping the 5 star rating right then and there when I finished, even if it had a terrible cliffhanger. SIX OF CROWS IS JUST TOO DARN GOOD.

newRating5

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins – I don’t remember how long it was since I read this book but it felt like it was such a long time ago. It felt like I was reading for the first time again. I knew what was happening, but it felt like I was only processing the information as I was reading it. I was able to manipulate what I thought should be in the movie. It was so easy to digest everything, because I normally take days to read a book. But this one only took me two days, and that’s because I have classes and I only read in intervals. I cannot wait to reread Catching Fire as well. And then I will know if I will finally read Mockingjay or not. We’ll see.

newRating4half

Wrap-Up - Movies

Moana – I must be the black sheep when it comes to this movie, but I did not find it entirely okay. Maybe I got too overhyped by it, and I really did not want to see the movie just because Lin-Manuel Miranda produced the music. Granted, the music was the best part, but don’t worry. I n will probably rewatch this one soon.

Beauty and the Beast – My eyes tear up every time I dare mention this movie because it was so darn beautiful. I was crying from start to finish because it remained true to it’s foundation. Everything was so darn perfect. Should I do a full review for this one? I guess I should (because I want to properly fangirl over Dan Stevens please).

Wrap-Up - Series

The Crown – I am a sucker for anything historical, and anything related to British monarchy. So with that, I loved this series very much. The history nerd in me is very satisfied indeed.

Riverdale – WHAT IS GOING ON? I am sad that they took a break the same time as I did for school. WHY ARE YOU DOING THIS TO ME?

Wrap-Up - Announcements

  • I have been dying to scream about this since I was chosen, and I can finally say it. I am now a co-blogger at Stay Bookish!

Stay_Bookish_Header-e1465718654449

  • Before I even started, it has been one of the blogs that I sincerely look up to. It inspired me to blog in the first place. And now,  I am actually part of the blog squad! It is honestly a dream come true for me, because I would not have picked anywhere else to step up and co-blog.
  • Don’t worry, of course I am not leaving this lovely blog of mine. Think of it this way: there is more than one place where you get to hear me fangirling over books. But I have been debating something else entirely.
  • The Fanboy Book Club is currently under construction! Or is it still even called that? More news in the future soon!
  • I will be going to another April book event soon, this time for romance books. I cannot wait to feel all of the feels!

Okay, I guess that’s about it for the past 3 months? So how about you guys? Everything went well for the first half of the year? Let’s talk about it!

name

5 thoughts on “The Ultimate Quarterly Wrap-Up (January-March 2017)

  1. I really want to read The Young Elites, as it sounds like a book I would greatly enjoy. Plus I read Marie Lu’s Legend trilogy and I enjoyed the writing style, so that probably won’t be an issue for me. 😀
    I love One Punch Man, it’s such a good anime. And yes, Saitama is seriously THE BEST! I’m beyond exited for the second season to come out!!
    Also YESS to both Six of Crows and Aristotle and Dante! I’m very happy to see that you loved them as well, as they are some of my all time favourite books. 🙂
    Congrats on becoming a co-blogger at Stay Bookish as well! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

