Books I Loved Less || Top Ten Tuesday

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish.

Continuing my spree of surprising people with a series of posts, here we have a Top Ten Tuesday. Oh my word. And it’s going to talk about books that I loved less? (Woman, who are you?) New and improved. I have been on a reading journey the past year and I realized a lot of things that I did not know about myself. Yes, I was still reading last year. I just did not have the time to socialize lol. Anyways, let’s get to through this Top Ten (Five) Tuesday, shall we?

Side note: I am not saying that I don’t like these books (with the exception of the last one), but these are generally the books that I thought that I will absolutely love. It ended up being less than what I thought they were going to be. Oh expectations, and the hype. *sigh* And yes, these books are in order. If it is your favorite, yay for you! You liked it, and I didn’t (which is sad for me).

5. Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

newRating4half

24909346

I wanted to like Gemina. I really did. It was one of my most anticipated reads last year, and I almost sacrificed an arm and a limb to get my hands on an advanced reader’s copy. But luckily, I did not.

I still thoroughly enjoyed this book, particularly loving a new character named Ella. She was another girl behind the computers and I bet she and my mom Kady will get along just fine. The chemistry between Hannah and Nik did not work well with me, and I still shipped Kady and Ezra more. The fact that the characters from the last book had more impact on me than the characters that were basically in the last 500 pages is saying a lot. The action was still there, and I am still very much intrigued on how the series will go from there. I just thought that this one will automatically get 5 stars from me.

4. Legacy of Kings by Eleanor Herman

newRating4

24612954

For crying out loud, this was a historical fiction novel. Bianca, this should have been automatically rated as a 5-star read. I know, right? But why not, you ask?

I found myself dragging over some of the parts, like Jacob and Zofia’s perspectives. I need not to read their endeavors since I did not get much at all. I was also excited to just immerse myself in the world, but the characters took that one star away from making it a 5.

I like books with multiple perspectives, and 3rd person narratives are always the best kind of books to read for me. I found Alexander nice, and Katerina lovely. The queen was definitely a character that I would want to read more of. That’s why I was still able to give the 4 star rating for this book.

3. Zac and Mia by A.J. Betts

newRating2half

20256715

Oh man. I had such high hopes for this book. Again, it all comes down to expectations. I wanted to read something that will hit me hard in the feels. Yet, did this book deliver? Not really, as I stated in my review.

It did succeed in giving me a lot of feels, feelings of hatred for one of the main characters. Mia was unbearable. I understand where her hatred is coming from, but she came off really strong and unpleasant.

I generally loved everything else, the message it wants to get out there, and the writing style. It was actually quite refreshing to read a book set outside the United States. //shot But the feelings were all negative, accompanied by a resolution that was just meh, and a character that did not look like she will change for the better.

2. Why We Broke Up by Daniel Handler

newRating2

10798418

WE GET IT. YOU BROKE UP. WHY DO YOU HAVE TO BE 400 PAGES LONG?

I ended up DNF-ing this book after wanting it for so long. Our school library had it on its shelves (much to my surprise)  and I wanted to lay back and just read. I ended up returning it the two days after with a whole week still under my belt because I just had enough.

What I read was a string of conclusions that are woven to make a coherent conclusion realizable from the very first page. Do you get me? As for now, this one gets two stars from me. Writing style is okay, and the art was simply gorgeous, but with everything that is spiraling around, it gets a no from me right now.

1. Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

newRating2

download (2)

I had a series kick last year, and this one was actually on my list. I did expect to like it, because my own classmates gave me good ratings for this book. But sad to say, yes. I hate this book because of the CHARACTERS again.

Juliette annoyed every fiber of my being and so did Adam and Warner, who I think are both dominant and abusive as fudge. This book was just full of bad decision-making. -_-

I discontinued reading the sequel despite wanting some more Kenji action (who I think is the most sensible person in this entire trilogy). I had hopes that Juliette would make more sense in the next book, but it ended up like a cliche. I was able to predict the next twists and turns, based on the direction that those guys are headed. But fret not, it could have been a one star if not for Tahereh Mafi’s glorious writing style. I love you guys, and I know that a lot of you loved this book in particular. But I am not sorry for disliking these characters. The frustration was just strong.


I narrowed the list down to five because we could be here all day if I did list down ten books. I actually have more books to share about but this post is getting too long for me. I might be boring you with the details already.

And that’s a Tuesday for you and for me.

What books should I give a second look to? What books did you expect to love and loved less? Let me know so we can chat in the comments below!

name

9 thoughts on “Books I Loved Less || Top Ten Tuesday

  1. “WE GET IT. YOU BROKE UP.” OMG HAHAHAHA. I was about to order that one on book outlet but didn’t end up buying it in the end, now I’m happy I didn’t get it

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I totally forgot to put Shatter Me on my list! I was actually able to finish the series and believe me, it was terrible! I still have it on my shelf though. Not sure if I’ll ever get rid of it because of its beautiful cover. lol. Also, the gorgeous/unique writing gets lesser as the series go which sucks. Kenji definitely going for this one though.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

