Book Haul #5: How did this happen?

newBookHaul

Remember that I lost control book haul? Well, it’s time to topple that. Because I went full on crazy again and it got really weird. Alright, let’s get to the book haul before I snap or something.

You might think that I got these books for my birthday, right? Haha, nope. I only got one book for my birthday. And that book is I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson.

img_20161030_122351

I got this one from Jasmine at Jasmine Pearl Reads, weeks after my birthday because I was in thesis hell that time. Much love to Jasmine for sending me this. ❤

So now we proceed to November. Oh sweet sweet November. How are you so cool and thoughtful and ridiculous all at the same time.

15032787_1144359148995382_6204340784182985318_n

I actually only heard of the Scholastic Warehouse Sale when Rafael from The Royal Polar Bear Reads talked about his experience on his blog. And then I saw Hazel from Stay Bookish’s unboxing. When I saw what titles can be bought, I immediately asked a lot of people if they could come with me. In the end, I went with my mom (lol, my mom is very supportive of my bookish endeavors in life, okay?) No hassle really since we went there through a private vehicle. Now I only had a budget for the book buffet, so I need to make the most out of it. The staff present at the sale were really friendly and they helped me with arranging the books for the book buffet.

Here’s how the book buffet works:
There is an area exclusive for the book buffet inside the warehouse. The staff will give you a box where you can go and put all of your books. Most of the titles for available at the book buffet were actually very good. All you have to do is to have a keen eye, and maybe you will find the titles that you like. After all, Scholastic is a main distributor of the a lot of books here in the PH.

Asides from the book buffet, there were a lot of books that were 40% – 70% off, which is a really good deal if you want to book hunt. If I only had more budget, maybe I could have gone crazier. (No, I am not crazy. You are.)


So to give you an idea of what you can get, here are some of the books that I got from the book buffet:

Pictured:

Every You, Every Me by David Levithan

Imaginary Girls by Nova Ren Suma

Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

An Abundance of Katherines by John Green

Just Listen by Sarah Dessen

The False Prince by Jennifer Nielsen

Beauty Queens by Libba Bray

20161210_124643-01

Pictured:

To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee

The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

The Five People You Meet In Heaven by Mitch Albom

What We Remember, What We Forget

The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton

Prince Caspian by C.S. Lewis

Coraline by Neil Gaiman

Tales of the Trojan War by Kamini Khanduri

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie


You can also visit Raffy’s and Hazel’s respective blog posts if you want to know more about the sale. It helped me a lot, and their posts are informative and they gave tips about the sale. ( I linked it up there. ^_^)

Okay, to answer some of your Q’s. I went there early on a rainy weekend, and I think they were fresh from opening. Actually, I was all by myself at one point haha. My advice is that if you are planning to go there on a weekend, be early. But there still exceptions since my friend went there in the afternoon and she still got a ton of great titles. Have fun finding the titles that you want to buy. It will really test your ninja skills.

My day did not stop there. Because of an event, I got to go to Bonifacio Global City at night. And that place is so much more pretty at night. My mom and I had some time to kill, so we went to the Fully Booked branch there. That place is my heaven, because it’s so huge. 4 floors of all of the amazing books. Unknown to my mom, there was also a sale there. But I couldn’t say anything because I just got new books earlier that day. You know that feeling of dread? I was staring at YA books like a hound. (Plus I badly wanted a Ruta Sepetys book. But yeah, shut up self.)

20161210_125440-01

… Though in the end, I still got one book. I got a paperback of Harry Potter because we have been searching for that book since I lost it way back then. (Like I said my mom is very supportive, especially if it’s HP related. Because we just both love the series so much. Except for Cursed Child //shot)


So how was I in the aftermath of that book excursion? I’m currently saving my allowances for another one, because once you do that… there is no coming back. Kidding aside, I would love to get books for myself even if the next spending spree happens next year. I have no regrets. I know I got some amazing titles, and I cannot wait to dive into them. (I lied. I’m reading on an e-reader right now. #bookwormproblems)

What was your latest haul like? Share your book haul stories below!

newBrb

9 thoughts on “Book Haul #5: How did this happen?

  1. This sounds like the perfect sale! I mean, not, because I don’t need more books and I would’ve bought loads too… Hope you enjoy the Sarah Dessen book, I really liked that one! And I’m glad you have Harry Potter, how do you cope without having all 7?? (no, not 8, like you said we just shouldn’t talk about Cursed Child).
    (commenting from #eotybh chat)

    Like

  2. All the great sales are in Metro Manila. 😦 Me is sad. I live in Mindanao area so I always get jealous whenever an author visits our country because I’m dang sure that they’ll have their signing there, you also get great sales. The NBS and Fully Booked branches here in my city doesn’t have that wide selection of books.

    Like

Leave a Reply

