PH Blog Tour: Nevernight (Review)

tourbanner2

Before Reading:

I don’t really know what I am getting myself into. Kidding! Of course I know what this is. Jay Kristoff has a history of ripping people’s hearts out in pieces. I could give you Illuminae for that. But this is not it. Nevernight’s on the spotlight now, and it has the moment. Considering how I am shattered and devastated by Jay’s writing style, I decided to give it another go because it comes with the weirdness of my inner self. This book is beautiful, dark, gritting, and is unlike any book I have ever seen.

Please don’t tear me to bits.

Too late.

newBook

nevernight-royal-hb-front-white-title

Title: Nevernight

Author: Jay Kristoff

Genre: Young Adult (?), Fantasy

Date Published: 9th of August 2016

Series: The Nevernight Chronicle #1

Publisher: Thomas Dunne Books

Source: Paperback, ARC for the tour

Rating: 4/5 stars on Goodreads

Buy it on: Amazon / TBD

Summary:

The first in a new fantasy series from the New York Times bestselling author.

In a land where three suns almost never set, a fledgling killer joins a school of assassins, seeking vengeance against the powers who destroyed her family.

Daughter of an executed traitor, Mia Corvere is barely able to escape her father’s failed rebellion with her life. Alone and friendless, she hides in a city built from the bones of a dead god, hunted by the Senate and her father’s former comrades. But her gift for speaking with the shadows leads her to the door of a retired killer, and a future she never imagined.

Now, Mia is apprenticed to the deadliest flock of assassins in the entire Republic—the Red Church. If she bests her fellow students in contests of steel, poison and the subtle arts, she’ll be inducted among the Blades of the Lady of Blessed Murder, and one step closer to the vengeance she desires. But a killer is loose within the Church’s halls, the bloody secrets of Mia’s past return to haunt her, and a plot to bring down the entire congregation is unfolding in the shadows she so loves.

Will she even survive to initiation, let alone have her revenge?

After Reading:

I do not have feelings. I am numb. I do not know what to feel. What is this sensation that is left within me? Am I even allowed to even speak or squeal? I can feel a reading slump brewing. OH MY gods…

ReviewBanner6

newFinalThoughts

Entering a new world is always scary, especially if that specific genre is not your usual cup of tea. Yet in all of the glory it holds, Nevernight managed to convince me to stay and read the bloody book in less than a hundred pages. Nevernight is an example of an exquisite and delicate book with a promise so great that it could instantly hook you in. It also has it’s fair share of your usual young adult fantasy tropes that will hit you right in the face if you’re as meticulous of a reader as I am. Add in an author who is fantastically hilarious, and you get 600 pages worth of all the sleep that you may need to sacrifice to finish this badass book.

Within Nevernight’s pages is the world of Mia Corvere, a girl who is out to seek revenge for her family’s downfall in the hands of powerful men. She enters the Red Church to be trained as a deadly assassin, where she faces the challenges that will either make or break herself. I cannot help but draw my comparison of Mia Corvere to Juliet Capulet in the anime adaptation of Romeo and Juliet. They have similarities in regards to what motivates them to do what they do, and seeing that comparison helped me to connect with Mia. Mind you, I have a history of disliking female characters in some cases so this book automatically gets plus points for that. But the comparison with Juliet stops there, because Mia is not your sometimes damsel in distress. She is still a growing character, and I want to continue on hoping that as the series will progress, she will grow into a character worth of all the praise that anyone could throw at her. She is a strong individual who can stand alone, and I admire her for that. She is an amazing female lead that many can look up to.  She is honorable, courageous, and imperfect. Honestly, she might not even need a love interest. That is how badass she is.

In Mia’s journey, we get this array of characters that we have to be careful not to have feelings for, because as a reader, you must keep your guard up on this book. We get a look of her mentors, who are (almost) too good in almost every aspect. They are almost intimidating, but there is this side of them that is still practically human. As for her peers, let me just say that I will never look at people the same way again. It is difficult not to judge a book by the cover, but you can always see through if you are observant enough.

It is not difficult to get into Nevernight’s atmosphere because of Jay Kristoff’s beloved footnotes. Not only were they hilarious, but they were a reliable souce to get you hooked into the story. Think of the footnotes as your crash course to the history of Itreya. It is my personal liking to know more about the history of the world that I am getting myself into. The setting of Ancient Rome and The Prince of Venice sat well with me. I could just imagine the grandiose and the extravagance of it all. And I would dare not leave out the Red Church. The Red Church is breathtaking, almost as if it will kill you with it’s beauty. It is the perfect setting for would-be assassins and their respectful Shahids. I love the brutality, the frankness, and the attitude that the Red Church gives out. Not really surprised if someone is already dying in the next book. Kidding.

Noting these factors, I would recommend you read Nevernight in all of the glory it contains. Not only would you expect blood, but you will expect something different. Mia Corvere is not your typical YA heroine, and Nevernight is not your typical book with similar fantasy plots. Give this book a try, and you might get that #stabstabstab vibe, too.

newRating5

newAuthor

RoUP_3V6

Jay Kristoff is the New York Times and internationally bestselling author of THE LOTUS WAR, THE ILLUMINAE FILES and THE NEVERNIGHT CHRONICLE. He is the winner of two Aurealis Awards, an ABIA, nominee for the David Gemmell Morningstar and Legend awards, named multiple times in the Kirkus and Amazon Best Teen Books list and published in over twenty-five countries, most of which he has never visited. He is as surprised about all of this as you are. He is 6’7 and has approximately 13030 days to live. He abides in Melbourne with his secret agent kung-fu assassin wife, and the world’s laziest Jack Russell.

He does not believe in happy endings.

Follow Jay on social media!

Facebook || Twitter || Blog || Instagram || Goodreads


Huge thanks to Kate at The Bookaholic Blurbs for letting me join this lovely tour for Nevernight and Harper Voyager UK for providing the ARC for the tour. I will also be leaving the links of the other blogs who joined the tour so as to spread more love for this amazing book. (Also for you, the reader, in case you need more proof of Nevernight’s sheer awesomeness.)

JM at Book Freak Revelations – [Review]

Inah at The Bibliophile Confessions – [Review]

Imogene at Amidst the Pages – [Review]

Mara at Mara Was Here – [Review]

Kim at Divergent Gryffindor – [Review]

Lyra at Defiantly Deviant – [Review]

Kazhy at My Library In The Making – [Review]

Kai at Amaterasu Reads – [Review]

Kate at The Bookaholic Blurbs – [Review]

Alright. I know that I am not alone on this lovely train. Hit me up with your thoughts on Nevernight and let’s fangirl over in the comment section.

newBrb

4 thoughts on “PH Blog Tour: Nevernight (Review)

  1. Please don’t hate me, but I did have a few issues with this book. First, the unnamed narrator really got on my nerves, although he seemed to get less annoying as the story progressed. I also thought the beginning was a little slow, but once Mia reached the Red Church the story really took off. And last but not least, the footnotes drove me crazy! Don’t get me wrong. I love footnotes. I loved Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell, and about half of that book is made up of footnotes. In this case though, I read the eARC on my Kindle, and the way it was formatted the footnotes were all clumped together at the end of each chapter, some of which were 10-15minutes long! So by the time I finished one of these longer chapters and I’d get to the footnotes, I’d forgotten half of what they were referring to. After a while I found myself just skipping them. Another blogger told me that the print version has them at the bottom of each page which I think would have worked better for me. Despite these issues I did enjoy the story though and I’ll definitely be reading the sequel. I think I’ll get in print though.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I guess that the footnotes can be distracting depending on the situation. 🙂 You should definitely go for a printed edition! It will maximize your experience with a hefty book such as this. I also had a hard time when I tried reading Nevernight using an e-reader. But it all worked out when I had my hands on a copy. It’s so gorgeous.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

