I Got Tagged: The Mid-Year Freak Out Tag(2016)

Mid-Year
‘Tis the end of July and I have read only 20+ books. Right on track (no, not really) with my Goodreads schedule. I have no idea how I managed to do it despite the ridiculous time frame given to me this 2016, but I did it. Hence, it is only proper that I do this wonderful tag this year. I thought that 2016 will be a bad reading year for me. It turns out that I was perpetually wrong.

I was tagged by Raven at Dreamy Addictions, but I was not worthy enough last year. Haha. Luckily, I was tagged this year by B at icebreaker694 to do this tag again this year. Thank you guys!

Onto the tag!

Best book you’ve read so far in 2016

No, you cannot make me choose between these four books. You may not. The Darkest Corners is like the best YA thriller there is. Simon VS. The Homo Sapien’s Agenda is the best fluffy YA contemporary. More Happy Than Not is the best YA contemporary angst. And Holding Up the Universe is the best YA contemporary romance.

Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2016

I have not read any sequels yet. Don’t throw books at me. I’m still at a point where I am only reading the first books in a series.

New release you haven’t read yet, but want to

I definitely want to read My Lady Jane, Learning to Swear in America and Rocks Fall, Everyone Dies. My Lady Jane for historical fiction reasons, plus I am Tudor Era trash haha. Here’s to more historical YA fiction! And well, I want to read more books that feature male leads. Those two books are the newest addition to my male leads list.

Most anticipated release for the second half of the year

24909346

It has been said before, and I will say it again: GEMINA. GEMINA. GEMINA. I don’t mind actually. Just as long as I get my hands on it as soon as humanly possible once it is released. Or else I will probably turn wild and I will have to harvest human flesh for food. Kidding. 😉

Biggest disappointment

20256715

Have you ever wanted a book so bad that once you get it in your hands, you start reading it? And then it fails to live up to your expectations? It was one of the books that I wanted to read since I started blogging. Unfortunately, it did fail my expectations.

Biggest surprise

It would definitely have to be Cinder by Marissa Meyer, Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo, and We Were Liars by E. Lockhart.

  • I had low expectations for Cinder, despite hearing from everyone that they love it to bits. Hands down to Marissa Meyer, because sci-fi is practically my new cup of hot chocolate. I need more of the Lunar Chronicles in my life.
  • Now the Grisha trilogy actually did not sit well with me, and I did not even tried to pick up Ruin and Rising. Now before you go all Grisha on me, I did bring the topic up of reading Six of Crows for the Fanboy Book Club. It means that despite my cold experience with her other series, I still love Leigh Bardugo and her Russian-inspired world. And it was the best decision ever. All I needed was a group of misfits and I was sold. I will be reviewing Six of Crows soon so I hope you stay tuned for that.
  • I STILL DON’T KNOW WHAT TO FEEL ABOUT WE WERE LIARS.

Favorite new author (debut or new to you)

I would say that I have too many to mention that it deserves a list of it’s own!

Newest fictional crush

I’m saving that list for another day as well.  😉

Here’s a sneak peek though:

tumblr_o2m0u70LRB1rzvcdpo2_540
Image via p-i-quote-book.blogspot.com

Newest favorite character

https-%2F%2Fblueprint-api-production.s3.amazonaws.com%2Fuploads%2Fcard%2Fimage%2F80840%2FHOLDING_UP_THE_UNIVERSE_by_Jennifer_Niven_Cover

I was lucky enough to be given the opportunity to read Holding Up The Universe before it comes out, and I was fortunate enough to read about Libby. I have this thing where I cannot connect with female characters. But I have never felt a strong connection with any character than I did with Libby Strout. She is the brightest character and there, hence I wanted to scream, “Finally! I am represented in a YA novel.”

Book/s that made you cry

I probably cried the hardest during More Happy Than Not. But all of these are equally beautiful in their own way. Aristotle and Dante was just beautiful. End of question. As for Holding Up The Universe, I still have a review on the way so I hope you stay tuned for that.

Book that made you happy

19547856

Becky Albertalli’s book is so darn fluffy! It’s like eating oreos dipped in cookies and cream milk, alongside cookies and cream ice cream. It is that sweet because of each and every character, but mostly Simon and Blue. Read it if you have not yet!

Favorite book to film adaptation you saw this year

Does Deadpool count? I mean, it’s a comic BOOK. Plus it is so badass. Other than that, I finally saw the Angels and Demons film because of a lovely friend.

Favorite review you’ve written this year

9af5ca4a-9d4e-469b-9561-3dde6dcf13d2

I loved writing my review for Cities by Carla de Guzman. It was so good, and I loved weighing the words that gave it balance. Read the full version here!

Most beautiful book you’ve bought so far this year (or received)

IMG_20160710_080706

Say hello to my Bookworms Unite 2.0 book haul! These books are oh so beautiful and oh so diverse! Nothing can beat the amazing feeling that only the Filipino book blogging community can give.

What books do you need to read by the end of the year?

I have a list. And it’s a ridiculous list. I don’t even have the courage that I will pull it off. Please don’t ask for my head.


How are you guys doing what do you plan on doing for the rest of the year? The opportunities are endless! Have you guys done this tag? Consider yourself tagged if not! Share your mid year freak out with me. 🙂

Side note: Would you believe that it took me month to do this? Hahaha. 

newBrb

5 thoughts on “I Got Tagged: The Mid-Year Freak Out Tag(2016)

  1. Loved your answers! Gemina is one of my highest anticipating book too! I can’t wait to get it in my hands! Six of crows and Cinder are definitely great books and I’m glad you enjoyed them. Deadpool is a kickass movie and I loved it! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

