Fandom Features #1: Romeo X Juliet

FandomFeatures

Hello! Welcome to another feature (that I hope becomes a weekly thing) here on The Ultimate Fangirl. This has been one of my resolutions for my blog for it’s 2nd year. I wanted to feature my many other fandoms. I mean, I did not take up the name for nothing. So let me take you on a wonderful adventure and let’s explore the world’s many fandoms.

Fandom Features is a Thursday feature/weekly meme created by Bianca at The Ultimate Fangirl to creatively showcase the many fandoms in this world. Feel free to share details about the fandoms you are currently in, as the goal of this feature is to showcase the fandoms we belong in and maybe encourage people to join in your respective fandoms!

My goal is to do this feature every Thursday. The fun part is that anyone can join in doing this lovely feature! Please feel free to link your posts on the Fandom Feature back here on The Ultimate Fangirl. I hope to leave a Linky on the post that I will do on the specific day.


For this week, I decided to feature the anime/manga adaptation that got me into the otaku world. That is Romeo X Juliet, an anime adaptation of William Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet.

HowIGotIn

I had an aunt and an uncle who is an otaku. I got tired and a bit embarassed to ask them if they could switch channels to the cartoons, because I thought anime was for the grown-up kids like them. While I was on vacation, apparently the screen was always on Animax Asia. So while trying to connect with them, I saw this cute commercial about a girl and a boy who falls in love at a ball. But apparently, they are sworn enemies. Because the title of the series was Romeo X Juliet. And I was all… SIGN ME UP.

From that moment on, I was hooked. I did not have Animax Asia at home, so I had to make do with streaming episodes on various anime sites. It’s not as easy as it sounds. This was way back in 2010. How do you think my internet speed was doing back then? Yes, it was pretty bad. I barely get to watch half an episode per day because I had to leave the computer to buffer. But I managed to get into it and I can tell you that it was worth it.

MakesItUnique

The thing about Romeo X Juliet is that I have no anime to compare it with. I did not know then that Naruto, Doraemon, and Voltes V was an anime. I mean, no one told me about it. I had to figure it out for myself. Back to the main point, it was Romeo X Juliet that made me stick to the whole anime/manga phase that I had in high school. If it were Anthony and Cleopatra that they opted to do instead, I would have had rolled my eyes and walked away. Yet the studio opted to remake Romeo and Juliet and put an element of fantasy in it. You get this love story with an amazing female heroine and a naive boy in line for the throne. Their destinies are star-crossed because of a dark past, yet it’s so evident that they will soon be your OTP. And since it’s a Romeo and Juliet retelling, what happens? They also mixed in some elements from Zorro, and the one behind the mask is definitely #empowerment. They fit in a romance story, and then they mixed it up with some amazing sword-fighting sequences, involved with a political drama, and fantasy elements. All in 24 episodes, all of which are 24 minutes in length.

RPFip_gNPoM.market_maxres

I also want to note the impeccable art style of this anime. Amazing landscapes here and there, like it was a mix of dystopian society and the culture from the Tudor era. (Without the cutting heads part.) If you have watched it, or you will watch after my recommendation (yay me) you will have a thing for irises. I never knew that I could be moved by the beauty within a story adapted in so many forms. (Or I am probably just trash.)

I believe in the power of this adaptation. If I had to rank the ones that I have seen, this one would come out on top. I’ll be saving the Leo and Claire Dane’s adaptation for a rainy day. How I got into Romeo and Juliet’s story is going to be in another fandom feature, I promise you that.

WhyYouNeedTo

Be warned: Since this is a Romeo and Juliet story, you will expect that your tears may fall. I cried since the 6th episode, I think. Halfway, I was bawling my eyes and out. I will leave the ending as a mystery, and don’t you go checking it up on Wikipedia. If you love a good tear-jerker that will also make you laugh and jump in your seat, then this is for you. If you’re hesitant to check out other anime and you want to start with something small that is close to the literary world, then I suggest that you watch this lovely anime. I will be leaving links where you can start streaming: here, here, and here. You can also read the manga: here, and here.

Also have some tissues nearby. I cannot count how many times I have cried watching this show. Oh and don’t blame me if you get the Japanese version of You Raise Me Up stuck in your head. Imagine listening to that every time the show starts. Here you go:


Before book blogging, I was this otaku. I still am. And I love how this anime made me venture out to other fandoms.

Have you guys seen this anime? Did I intrigue you? Let’s fanboy/fangirl together. Or if you want to share your lovely fandom, you can link it here on this post!

newBrb

5 thoughts on “Fandom Features #1: Romeo X Juliet

  1. WAIT WAIT WAIT, WHY HAVE I NEVER ENCOUNTERED THIS BEFORE?!?? In all my life of watching anime and reading maga, I honestly have never heard of Rome x Juliet. But now I have, and THANK YOU SO MUCH. I’ll search on this immediately omg. Thank you for introducing me to this lovely adaptation! (I AM TOO EXCITED FOR THIS ASDFGKLGDJ)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

