Book Haul #4: I Lost Control + Mini Bookworms Unite 2.0 Recap

newBookHaul

I have this inkling that I may have gone a bit overboard this month. Wait, scratch that. I went crazy. I haven’t been posting any book hauls because since the finals of my second term in uni, I barely got to have my hands on any books. I was making do with the ones that I have and haven’t read yet. It was a good thing that I did, because I had the time to backtrack and lessen the books on my TBR.

Since February, I have only bought 7 books. And then uh… Bookworms Unite 2.0 happened. And I was granted access to some assets… I have no idea if the feeling that I have is a feeling of shame, regret, or ridiculousness. I think… a little bit of the three.

Let’s get to the books that I got from February to June.

IMG_20160627_075114
Thank you Book Sale, National Bookstore, Ate Kate at The Bookaholic Blurbs, and Popular Bookstore SG! Top to bottom: How To Steal the Mona Lisa by Taylor Bayouth, Great Tales from British History by Robert Gambles, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs, Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz, Angels and Demons by Dan Brown, The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin, Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver

You might be saying, “How in the world did you end up with just 7 books in 5 months?” I blame my thesis. And my finals. And my statistics class. Kidding. It took a lot of self-restraint and the bookstore feels like it’s so far when I’m tired all the time.

Linebreak

img_6568

Now this July, I went to a little event (you might have not heard of it #sarcasm) called Bookworms Unite PH. It was a really fun event because I finally got to meet the bloggers that I have been admiring since I started blogging. I finally got to meet Hazel at Stay Bookish, Miel at Bookish and Awesome, Dianne at Oops! I Read A Book Again, Inah and Jem at The Bibliophile Confessions, and JM at Revelations of a Book Freak. Shyness overcame me, so I barely “socialized” during the event. In my head I’m fangirling like fudge, saying things like “OHMYGODS SENPAIs NOTICED ME.” I mainly talked with Ate Czai from The Blacksheep Project and Ate Gellie, so we teamed up during the games. We were called the Ladies of Ares, even though I haven’t read Red Rising yet. I promised them that I will, as soon as I get my own copy of the series.

13603469_513845845487859_5845822882255756569_o
Me and my teamates plotting world domination. Photos courtesy of Faye from The Social Potato
13603558_513845268821250_4159739834751878250_o
Me and my teamates plotting world domination. Photos courtesy of Faye from The Social Potato

The games were a blur to me, but we did end up winning 3rd place in YA Trivia. (I was like… who knew I knew that I have a lot of trivia knowledge inside the old noggin?) And then the Book Cover game happened… let’s just say that apparently stalking the Goodreads list of 2016 books in search of swoon-worthy male leads has finally done me some justice. (Kids, do not try this at home.) I swear Ate Czai is so good with the covers as well. We won 1st place, hooray! Since we both won in those games, we got some prizes. I also got two books from the book blind date, in which I say I also got kinda lucky because the ones I picked were definitely interesting! I also won one book from the raffle. By the end of it all, I was pretty much exploding with bookish thoughts. I even offered my services to the hosts if they needed someone to make those book covers harder to recognize haha.

IMG_20160710_080706
Huge thanks to Penguin Random House, Simon and Schuster, and Scholastic for sponsoring Bookworms Unite 2.0! Top to bottom: Sula’s Voyage by Catherine Torres, The Last Thirteen by James Phelan, A Little Something Different by Sandy Hall, Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake, Pointe by Brandy Colbert, Holding Up The Universe by Jennifer Niven

Linebreak

And like the book gods were teasing me, Fully Booked (one of our local bookstores) had a sale on the second week of July, so I made plans with my mom. A lot of bookworms on Twitter mentioned that the branch at Fully Booked Eastwood had a lot on sale, so I went there. And by gosh, it was my first time to buy that many books on a single day. I didn’t know that some of the books that I have been wanting for so long finally had paperback editions, so I opted to buy them instead.

IMG_20160718_121234
Thanks Fully Booked! Top to bottom: Zac and Mia by A.J. Betts, The Vigilante Poets of Selwyn Academy by Kate Hattemer, When I Was the Greatest by Jason Reynolds, The Maze Runner by James Dashner, Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

Yeah, I know. I should have not deprived myself in the first place. Now books are blowing up all over the place hahaha. But still, it’s rather nice if I could do this. I don’t mind not doing book hauls really. I wish I could do this all the time. Hahaha.

7 books in 5 months. 10 books in a month. I’m not even mad. Oh and the recap? Yeah, I know. A bit too late hahaha. I usually let the hype down first lol. So what did you guys haul this month?

newBrb

2 thoughts on “Book Haul #4: I Lost Control + Mini Bookworms Unite 2.0 Recap

Leave a Reply

