June Wrap Up + Announcements

Wrap-Up

… Yes, I am aware that I did not post a May wrap-up. I was serious in that hiatus of mine, haha. I did not read anything. But I did get to meet one of my favorite authors. πŸ˜‰

Despite starting with a hassle, June ended up being a lovely month. Book-wise, it was fantastic. Life-wise, I guess I am torn. School was a real bust, and I cannot wait to get up on my feet again (aka revenge plot against my lovely classmates, kidding). Yet there were a lots of things that I want to be thankful for:

  • Getting the chance to travel to another country (though I never knew walking could that be exhausting).
  • Being able to finally breathe and relax.
  • Getting a knife off my back (my statistics class).
  • Having an upgrade on just about everything.

Let’s just get into my shenanigans this month.

Eyooo

All The Feels by Danika Stone –Β ALL. THE. FEELS. I mean it literally, since it has slowly crawled into my heart. It can be a book similar to Fangirl. While Cath is more into writing, Liv is a force to be reckoned with due to her video editing skills.

Rating:Β Stars 4 blah

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz –Β I live tweeted again, this time about how this story made me cry and how it moved me to bits. I do not want to say much, because my review for this one is still pending. However, I hope my rating shows how much I loved this book.

Rating:Β Stars

Sticks and Stones by Abby Cooper – Again, my full review for this one will have to wait. This one was for a blog tour that I joined. I found the concept unique, because it was like some sort of medical sorcery.

Rating:Β Stars 3 blah

The Lady in Pink by Carla de Guzman – I raved about this novella last year when I first joined a blog tour, and I was fortunate enough to keep in touch with the author. πŸ™‚ I was able to reread it in a whole other light again, and her additions to the story were just fantastic!

Rating:Β Stars 4 blah

Ey

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo – I haven’t really had the best experience with the Grisha trilogy. It was dragging and I practically just skimmed Siege and Storm. I don’t know if I will ever pick up Ruin and Rising, but I am really in awe with the concept of Six of Crows. (Plus multiple POV’s)

Timekeeper by Tara Sim – I finally got approved with an eARC! Yay! The book seems so unique because of the time travel and LGBT aspect.

What Happens Now by Jennifer Castle – This is due to Ate Kate’s from The Bookaholic Blurbs influence. I read the first few lines and I got hooked! It was like learning that you can breath for the first time.

Eyooooo

Simon VS. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

19547856

Simon VS. The Homo Sapiens Agenda is like the Oreo version of a young adult novel. It’s the sweetest thing that you will ever read. Once you have read it, you will always look for it and want it. The aftertaste is equally sweet that it will give you a fluffy feeling because of the satisfying ending. It was the perfect helping of Oreo that you need.Β In all that is good in the world, Simon Spier is the cherry on top. He is an admirable male lead who is generally a good guy with a big heart for his family and friends.

Full review here.

 

Books-Richelle Mead

The Glittering Court by Richelle Mead

The world of Osfrid and Adoria was greatly mixed. I love how it was derived from the UK and the US, despite the timeline difference in the book. Being a history freak, this would have made me queasy since those are two conflicting timelines. Yet Richelle Mead delivered a wonderful historical fiction novel that connected the two as a whole. This setting was spectacular, and imagining those places will give future readers a wonderful time.

Full review here.

All The Feels by Danika Stone

download (3)

The book was all about trying to balance things out. The story can be compared to an emotional rollercoaster of feels for Liv, because she just wants to contribute to her beloved fandom and get her mother’s approval, pass college, and at least get a love life (aren’t we all? Nope. Just me.) The book does have all the feels and it can make you feel the feels. Because it makes you feel for the characters, make you feel what you feel about your respective dominant fandoms, and makes you feel like it’s you. (Feeeels.)

Full review here.

Eyoooooo

Nope. πŸ™‚

book announcement

  • I will be hosting the Fanboy Book Club this month! Isn’t that exciting? What is our book of the month you ask? Why, it’s Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo!

Six-of-Crows

  • To make things more festive, I actually plan on encouraging you guys to do a challenge. But don’t fret, there will still be a twitter chat per usual.
  • Aside from having an exciting month for July, our book club also… wait for it…

WILL BE DOING BLOG TOURS!

*cue in the confetti*

That’s right! You have read it right. Of course the lovely catch is that FBC will do blog tours for YA books that feature the coolest male leads out there. Club members will have certain access and privileges. πŸ˜‰

Sign-up for the Fanboy Book Club here:

If you’re already a member, no need to sign-up again. I have surprises waiting. And to give you a hint of what is in store, I suggest you check out my TBR up there. πŸ˜‰

So that’s about it for my June. How I wish July can live up to it’s semi-awesomeness. What happened to you guys? I would love to know!

Brb

8 thoughts on “June Wrap Up + Announcements

  1. Sounds like you had a great reading month! I’ve read All The Feels too and unfortunately didn’t really like it… and I found Ari and Dante a bit too introspective for my tastes! I do seem to be the black sheep with both books, though. πŸ˜›

    I haven’t read Six of Crows yet and am now wondering if I should do it with the FBCYA, but I’m super busy this month with traveling and work and my already-gigantic TBR… I think I’ll end up living vicariously through you guys. Have a great July, Bianca!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It just sounds like it hahaha. Don’t you worry, Reg. Either way, you’re still lovable even if you didn’t like the said books πŸ™‚ I hope you could join us this month, but at the same time I hope you have time for yourself with your busy schedule this July. I hope you have a great month as well. πŸ™‚

      Like

      1. Haha, thank you! My folks happen to be around for most of this month, which makes my schedule unpredictable as it depends on what they want to do – I can read it still, but I probably won’t be active in discussions, which kind of defeats the purpose. πŸ˜›

        Like

Leave a Reply

