April Wrap-Up and May TBR + Hiatus Announcement

Wrap-Up

The month of April could be summed up in one word: stressful.

I cannot stress enough how much of roller coaster of a month April has been. My midterms happened this month. And my finals will follow soon after. Timeline-wise, I read one book before my midterms, one book after my midterms and three books on the second of the last day of April. Makes sense? My reading was okay. I reached my quota of reading five books, which is great because I only read an average of 3-4 books a month. Yet, as a neurotic reader would say, “Of course I did not stick to my TBR.”

Eyooo

The Island by S. Usher Evans   Stars 4

My first book for the Sunday Street Team! I am so happy that I have been able to join, thanks to Nori at ReadWriteLove28. This book is amazing, and I cannot wait to read the sequel, The Chasm. I have a full review on The Island up here on my blog, if you would like to read more about my thoughts.

Inferno by Dan Brown   Stars 4 blah

It took me almost a year to complete this behemoth. But it was worth it. Since the world building was simply unforgettable, the instant I got back to reading the book I was right on track. I hope to see the movie when it comes out, because I got the Europe setting in my head again.

The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupery  Stars

I was feeling a little bit down so I finally picked this book up. I read for 20 minutes. Crazy, I know. But I needed some comfort. And that’s exactly what it gave me. I already posted my review on Goodreads for this one.

Simon VS. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli  Stars

Would you believe if I told you that I finished reading The Little Prince, this book, and The Glittering Court all in the same day? I don’t know why, but it was probably the rush. And I was taking advantage of the only free day that I had. Back to this book, I just could not stop gushing about it. I live tweeted while reading this book, and to be honest, I must have flooded Becky Albertalli’s mention feed. (Sorry!) Gush-worthy, insanely creative, and ridiculously fluffy. Wait for my review, okay?

The Glittering Court by Richelle Mead  Stars 4 blah

I was amazed that this book delivered the hype that I was giving it. The lucky streak continues, because this book is off the charts. The historical fiction is forgivable because the conflicting periods were delivered well. I hope to also post a review about this book soon.
Ey

The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater

  • The FBCYA book for April

The Spectacular Now by Tim Tharp

  • Our FBCYA book for May. This month, our read-a-long will be hosted by Maan at The Pigeon Reads.

The Last Time We Say Goodbye by Cynthia Hand

All The Feels by Danika Stone
Eyooooo

More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera

The Island by S. Usher Evans

Outside of the Blog

It is inevitable for me to announce this hiatus. Not only is May the busiest month of our college, but it is also our finals period. I will still be posting from time to time, since I promised a lot of reviews. Will I be just reviewing now? Probably. 😉 I really need to focus on my studies, so for now, this fangirl will be posting less. But don’t worry. I am still reading.

On the bright side, one of my favorite authors of all time is coming to the Philippines. Thanks to National Bookstore, Jennifer Niven will be visiting the Philippines this May! And the venue is just so convenient. I cannot wait to meet her. Visit @nbsalert on Twitter or National Bookstore’s facebook page for more details.

CgpBX5PUkAEUuqp

PH people! Will you be going to Jennifer’s signing? If so, let’s meet up! I cannot wait to interact with you guys.

So how was your April? I will still be commenting and I am always blog hopping. You will not even notice my absence. 😀

Brb

18 thoughts on “April Wrap-Up and May TBR + Hiatus Announcement

  1. I read 5 books 2 this month and I’m freaking out because my finals are coming up haha ! I’ll probably take a hiatus in the last week of May and the first of June as it will ne nearly impossible to focus on anything but studying !
    I LOVE Dan Brown books and their movie adaptations too, they’re so captivating and thrilling.
    Good luck with your exams ! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Mine are in those weeks I plan on taking a mini hiatus but since right now I’m just sitting at home studying I still can manage to blog when I’m taking breaks. Hahaha yes we can !!
        Haha, it’s not that bad, as long as they’re still understandable that way 😁

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Oooh, I like that – “books in the freezer.” Hehehehe. That is so awesome you got to read three books in one day. I still haven’t read “The Glittering Court,” but “The Little Prince” is one of my favorite books ever… and I did enjoy “Simon…” as well. Good luck on the exams.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I got the idea from Friends hahaha. When Joey could not finish the book and then he puts it in the freezer 🙂
      The Glittering Court is spot on. And a triple yes that Simon is quite enjoyable.

      And thank you. Cheers to your May 🙂

      Like

  3. It’s fine to hold off blogging, school is definitely important. Good luck with what’s yet to come!
    I’m planning to go to Jennifer Niven’s book signing. Crossing my fingers that nothing ruins my plan for that day 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

