Book Review: More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera + Playlist

FBC

The Fanboy Book Club is created by Bianca at The Ultimate Fangirl (aka me). It is a book club dedicated into reading and promoting books that feature strong and inspirational male leads.

Book Review

Before Reading:

Another month of abundant reading for the Fanboy Book Club. I love that since January, I have been reading a diverse book. One per month, because I can only handle so much. This one got me excited. I have been meaning to pick it up this book up since a lot of people were definitely hyping about it. I am about to find out why and what it is with this book that made people cry. Not that I have a heart of stone or anything, in fact I easily cry. Which is probably why I will tear up while reading More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera.

Book

19542841

Title: More Happy Than Not

Author: Adam Silvera

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, GLBT

Date Published: 2nd  of June 2015

Series: None

Publisher: Soho Teen

Source: eBook

Rating:  Stars

(Click the book to go to its Goodreads page)

Summary: In his twisty, gritty, profoundly moving debut—called “mandatory reading” by the New York Times—Adam Silvera brings to life a charged, dangerous near-future summer in the Bronx.

In the months after his father’s suicide, it’s been tough for 16-year-old Aaron Soto to find happiness again–but he’s still gunning for it. With the support of his girlfriend Genevieve and his overworked mom, he’s slowly remembering what that might feel like. But grief and the smile-shaped scar on his wrist prevent him from forgetting completely.

When Genevieve leaves for a couple of weeks, Aaron spends all his time hanging out with this new guy, Thomas. Aaron’s crew notices, and they’re not exactly thrilled. But Aaron can’t deny the happiness Thomas brings or how Thomas makes him feel safe from himself, despite the tensions their friendship is stirring with his girlfriend and friends. Since Aaron can’t stay away from Thomas or turn off his newfound feelings for him, he considers turning to the Leteo Institute’s revolutionary memory-alteration procedure to straighten himself out, even if it means forgetting who he truly is.

Why does happiness have to be so hard?


After Reading:

What does it feel like to feel? Such magnificence unfolded right before my eyes. Why have I not picked this book up sooner? Was I such a judgmental person to not see the beauty that was in this book? Or am I just so daft when it comes to my book choices? This book is heaven sent. I was on the verge of crying everytime because my relatives were with me while I was reading this book. You can only imagine my distraught in the car when I finished it and I had to be quiet. This book is amazing. And you should definitely read it too.

Final Thoughts

Plot-wise, it was mindblowing. There were certain parts (a little bit down the middle), where it all gets interconnected. You get this Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind vibe that feels so different. The similarities are uncanny, but there were more twists and turns for this book. It is a light read, but it will give you with a heavy heart and an open mind.

The book was not romance-heavy, but it did deal with certain feelings. As a reader, you cannot help but feel for Aaron, especially if you’re a huge sucker for unrequited love. The book is rather family-oriented, since Aaron’s family is more than what they seem. Only his mother and brother, though. It cannot be helped but to feel nothing but hatred for his father. It is amazing how they have done so much for him, which is a proof on how much your family is there for you no matter the preference.

Character-wise, almost every character created an impact. You may think they are just there because the author wanted to, but each one of them actually has a connection with Aaron. From Genevieve to Thomas, from Brendan to Me-Crazy, and from Aaron’s mom to his old babysitter. It is quite complicated to say how everyone is involved without giving spoilers but here’s the overview: some are dicks, some just care for Aaron’s well-being, and everyone else loved him very much.

Aaron himself is a rather complex character. He is so convincing, because of his will and power to persuade. He is a main character you want to root for, but you’re also hesistant since his actions are very limited. Aaron can be pretty rash, and he is a sucker for happiness, waiting for it to be handed out on a silver platter. Yet you can’t blame him for wanting to be happy. Despite everything, it can be said that Aaron is the perfect role model for everyone who want to live happy.

If you feel like you’re having a bad time, you should read this book. Aaron Soto will comfort you and will make you think that life is worth it. And that other things will come into place. If you want to read a good book, but you’re in the mood for something that exposes a lot of feels, this is for you. I can say that I have already forgotten some of the chapters in this book, but I am more happy than not because I remember the feelings it gave me whilst I was reading. It was fun to savor the moment while it lasted. Yes, as you may not have noticed, I gave this book 5/5 stars because of everything this book has given me.

I was even inspired to make a playlist. I couldn’t link the spotify version, but at least every song I picked was available on Youtube. Enjoy the more happy than not feels 🙂

Youtube Playlist:

Author

AdamSilvera_HiRes_v3

Adam Silvera was born and raised in the Bronx. He has worked in the publishing industry as a children’s bookseller, marketing assistant at a literary development company, and book reviewer of children’s and young adult novels. His debut novel, More Happy Than Not, received multiple starred reviews and is a New York Times bestseller. He is tall for no reason and writes full-time in New York City.

Watch out for his upcoming books,  History is All You Left Me and They Both Die at The End.

Brb

8 thoughts on “Book Review: More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera + Playlist

  1. I loved More Happy Than Not, it’s such a great book. I love your playlist too, it features songs by my favorite artists (great picks!).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great review! I really enjoyed this book too and the plot twist for me was just unpredictable, haha. I love that it deals with really mature, really sad issues – not all YA books do that and do it as sensitively as this one does. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

