ARC Review: The Darkest Corners by Kara Thomas

Book Review

Before Reading:

At a glance,  you won’t know what hit you. That is what I felt before reading The Darkest Corners. I saw that it was available on NetGalley, so I took the opportunity to request for it. While eagerly waiting, I began to see some related bookish shenanigans about it. I saw it on Bustle’s article about First in Line, where this particular book was featured as the read for March. Then, I read a few teasers and I got hooked immediately. Basically, deep inside me: “Omg give me this book I will read it asap.”.

And as if the book gods have heard my cry of help, and also a cry for a 5 star read this 2016; NetGalley approved my request to read it. Thus, an adventure begins.

Book

25639296Title: The Darkest Corners

Author:Kara Thomas

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Thriller, Mystery

Release Date: 19th April 2016

Series:None (but dang, I hope there is)

Publisher:Delacorte/ Random House

Source:e-ARC, provided by NetGalley

Rating:  Stars

(Click the book to go to its Goodreads page)

Summary: The Darkest Corners is a psychological thriller about the lies little girls tell, and the deadly truths those lies become.
There are ghosts around every corner in Fayette, Pennsylvania. Tessa left when she was nine and has been trying ever since not to think about it after what happened there that last summer. Memories of things so dark will burn themselves into your mind if you let them.
Callie never left. She moved to another house, so she doesn’t have to walk those same halls, but then Callie always was the stronger one. She can handle staring into the faces of her demons—and if she parties hard enough, maybe one day they’ll disappear for good.
Tessa and Callie have never talked about what they saw that night. After the trial, Callie drifted and Tessa moved, and childhood friends just have a way of losing touch.
But ever since she left, Tessa has had questions. Things have never quite added up. And now she has to go back to Fayette—to Wyatt Stokes, sitting on death row; to Lori Cawley, Callie’s dead cousin; and to the one other person who may be hiding the truth.
Only the closer Tessa gets to the truth, the closer she gets to a killer—and this time, it won’t be so easy to run away.


After Reading:

I have been cured. I have finally found my first 5 star read of 2016. I practically cried because I thought 2016 will be a bad reading year for me. Apparently, I just needed to wait for this particular read for me to finally drop that bomb of a 5 star rating. My drought is over. It will only go uphill from here. Amazing in so many levels. I wish someone would just gush about it with me. I was not disappointed.

Final Thoughts

It was an exhilarating ride of emotions. Right from the start, I already had this notion that it was going to be a ridiculously good book. It immediately gave me that feeling of wanting to start asking questions. Which is what a great mystery thriller is, right? The writing makes you think. Who did this? Who did that? There are a lot more questions but it might give away what happens. The story captivated me, because of how I must be alert. The killer could be anyone. There’s that thrill. Anything could happen at the least possible moment. Major bombs came dropping, and everything was not what it seems. It keeps you on your feet, eagerly awaiting any clues of what could lead to the next thing that our lead character is searching for.

In the town of Fayette, we have our lead Tessa Lowell. She is quite reserved and seemed like she lived her life as normally as she could. But with one step ahead, her being inquisitive took her to stay in Fayette in more days than planned. Tessa thinks logically, which is a quality that characters in most of the books I have read so far lacked. She knows what was needed to be solved, and she thinks swiftly. You can feel the eagerness in her perspective. That characteristic alone made me enjoy reading the book in Tessa’s perspective. I normally dislike a female’s perspective, but I would have to say that Tessa is special. She had a few faults here and there, but it was enough for me to root for her till the end. And to be able to keep one’s sanity despite having a few bumps on the road to find the killer is a big kudos. How I wish I was as cool as her.

As for Callie, I can say that she knows her place. But she was lost. Her attitude vastly improved when she was with Tessa more, and it definitely made her more human. They were in this together. Which is only appropriate when all the ends were finally tied. I just wish she did not disappear that quickly (somewhere in the book). Nonetheless, all of the characters in this book were practical and they made sense. Quite honestly, it helped because it makes the reader belong in the scenario. You can sense the humanity, and how fragile everyone is when it comes to the aspect of murder.

I love how Kara writes with finesse and fine detail. Her writing style is this unique bomb that you will immediately learn to love. She writes so beautifully that she was able to absorb me. I went in a world where anything could happen, because I don’t know what will happen. I felt like I was in Fayette myself. It was unusually easy to visualize what was in the book. And that is all because of the vivid vision of Kara Thomas.

Author

fullsizerender

Kara is the author of THE DARKEST CORNERS, coming April 2016 from Random House/Delacorte. She is also the author of the Prep School Confidential series from St. Martin’s Griffin under the pen name Kara Taylor. Kara has written for Warner Brothers Television and currently writes full-time on Long Island, where she lives with her husband and rescue cat.


Yes, you got that right. I love this book to bits and I cannot wait for everyone else to read it. Catch it in your local bookstore by April 19, 2016. Join in the search for the infamous Ohio River Monster. But just remember that everything is not what it seems. And some secrets from the past can still haunt you in the present.

Now, who has read this book? Or has my fangirling affected you in any way? Let’s talk about this marvelous piece of literature.

Brb

 

 

One thought on “ARC Review: The Darkest Corners by Kara Thomas

Leave a Reply

