Inspirational, Badass, and Strong Women in Fiction

Blogging Extravaganza

Get Up Offa That Slump Blogging Extravaganza is hosted by Rachel at Beauty and the Bookshelf.

Payback time, I guess? Yay for consistent blogging! And it’s time that I talk about women on my blog. I mean, after years and years of fighting for equality, we finally get the limelight. And these fictional women shine on it. I know that this post is a little late for women’s day, but I know that there’s a lot of them out there. If men have heroes to look up to, these are the women that has inspired women to aim high, reach for their goals, and aspire to become a good role model.

To be honest, I often just feature male leads here on my blog. So I guess that has to change. Because as I grow as a book blogger, I discover more books with strong and empowering female leads that I can tolerate. While the cliches are out there, these women stand out in every way possible.

Hermione Granger

Hermione-HBP-hermione-granger-16048675-1919-2560

No list of badass women is complete without Hermione Granger. She introduced the ways of being a girl. She proved that women can be pretty, knowledgeable and badass all at the same time. With her knowledge and wisdom, she guided every adventure Harry and Ron had. (Spoiler alert in Chamber of Secrets: she was already lying in bed and she still held the answers.) Without a doubt, Hermione served as a role model to girls my age. We wanted to grow up like her, with charisma and thirst for knowledge. And admit to ourselves that we are beautiful, every now and then.

Annabeth Chase

favorite-ya-heroine-annabeth-chase

Daughter of Athena, a skilled fighter, and a master architect, Percy Jackson definitely made a decision that Athena herself would have been proud of. But that doesn’t mean that Annabeth Chase does not shine on her own. She can be tough, strong, and wise. Oh Seaweed Brain, Annabeth’s the best. Never let her go.

Linh Cinder

Cinder_tumblr_fa

I am fresh off from finishing Cinder. And I can tell you that once I come in contact with another human being that will discuss it with me, I will never shut up. And I’ll tell you why: Cinder is one of a kind. I love a good fairy tale retelling but her story took it to the next level. She’s that kind of heroine who knows how to think. But she underestimates herself too much. Although, I understand that since Adri really messed her up. Yet, she bites back. She fights back her stepmother’s ridiculous remarks, and that to me shows courage. That if you know that you’re being hurt, you do something about it. That makes Cinder reach a spot in this list.

Kady Grant

8f8074b53df18706880990e8b874ce89

Hear me out. This might not have been what Kady looked like based on some stuff on the book. Yet, I have a feeling that she’ll cut her hair sometime soon. But that’s not why she’s here. She is here because she is another one-of-a-kind heroine that just knocks you off your feet. I consider her as an idol, since she is very knowledgeable when it comes to coding and programming. Her brain is this huge swamp that I want to have for my own, because in the course that I’m taking up right now, she’s practically a superstar. I aspire to be as level-headed as Kady Grant. And she serves as a role model even to other girls out there.

Cather Avery

cath___fangirl_by_fullmetalviolinist-d6udaf7

Of course I cannot leave out the ultimate fangirl. If I’m the ultimate fangirl, Cath is the original one. Now Cath is one amazing person because you can see her grow as a person whilst reading Fangirl. She entered this world where a lot can happen, will really challenge you as a person, test your morals, and will test you to keep yourself together. Also known as: college. Cath faced a lot of difficulties, and she went to do what her heart wants to do. Her unwavering courage is amazing. Plus, she’s the amazing author behind that one fanfiction. Her writing skills are mad genius. I would kill to get writing lessons and writing advice from Cath. And also pro tips on how to fangirl properly.


Alright. That’s about it. Who are your favorite female leads and why do you think they serve as a good role model? No spoilers for Scarlet, Cress and Winter, okay? I know you guys will include them. Now, I’ll just stalk Sarah J. Maas recap posts.

Brb

15 thoughts on “Inspirational, Badass, and Strong Women in Fiction

  1. Hi! I followed your blog! Mind checking mine out and maybe follow me too? Thank you very much! 🙂 You have a good day! 🙂 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this list! I really like the drawing for Linh Cinder, though I always imagined her as Asian because of her name. (She sort of looks like Lara Croft! And I love Lara Croft.)

    I haven’t read Illuminae, but I love that drawing for Kady Grant too. *U* I should read it and become acquainted with Kady, esp if she’s an awesome character that knows coding and programming. ❤

    And of course, all the yeses for Hermoine!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Like YES to all of these awesome characters! The only one I can’t think of is Kady Grant ? The name sounds so familiar but the books are just eluding me! Great post I had fun reading it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Completely agreeing with everyone above – LOVE the women you chose!! It took me a hot second to remember to Kady Grant (Illuminae) is but yes!! I also loved the pictures you included.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

