Random Recommendations: Diverse Books Galore

RecsThis is what lack of sleep does to you. It makes you word vomit at wee hours in the morning.

In lieu with the Fanboy Book Club’s awesome read for the month of March which is More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera, this is the part where I recommend some of the stuff that embodies the book club. Meaning: I recommend things that has male leads, hooray! And here’s the twist, it’s connected to our theme this month. Hence, more stuff to fanboy/fangirl on. It is all about diversity, and of course I have read most of these. I know how hard it is to find a good diverse book out there sometimes, but here I am to the rescue.

But there’s a catch. I myself have not read that many diverse books.

So I will recommend the ones that I have read, in which I thank the book gods for granting me with such great ones. I will also recommend some books on my TBR, because I have been hearing nothing but words of praise ever since I found out about the books in question.

How We Met and Other Stories by David Levithan

how-they-met-278x400

I know for a fact that David Levithan writes like a god when it comes to dealing with diversity. Luckily, I read this one before 2015 started. It was timely, because most of the stories were really fluffy. And the best part? You won’t even know the difference, which is the point. Love wins. From coffee shops to helping their partners get out of the closet, the short stories are really worth reading. Every story is a unique story, and David Levithan will keep you hungry for more.

 Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

23734628

Oh please, no one can bear not fangirling over Simon Snow and Basilton Pitch. Are they not the cutest couple ever? I have to admit that Simon alone cannot “carry” the book alone, but with Baz in the picture, things just got way, way more interesting. I won’t say anymore details, because I might give away the plot. But it can be similar to reading a Draco-Harry fanfiction. Magic, spells, fantastic beasts, and a plot twist that will make you go “whoa” at the end. Trust me on this one 😉

Suicide Notes by Michael Thomas Ford

3097601

Have you ever read a book where the character started off as someome you think he is but then you realize that he’s really not that person at all? Which is why he was in the book’s setting in the first place? Well, meet Jeff. I actually thought Suicide Notes was like It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini, but clearly I was wrong. It was just the same setting. And how… wait okay it is quite the same. But there’s a reason why I put this here. You’ll have to read the book first to understand why Jeff got in that institution in the first place.

Now for some of the books that I really want to read sometime soon.

Simon VS. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

19547856

Oreos. Blackmailing. Blue. Honestly, being the neurotic reader that I am, I should have been done with this book already. I’m a few chapters in and I liked the story very much. So to convince you to read it, I’ll tell my twin’s experience. She was fangirling over the revelations and she found the book very cute, despite her not reading too many books tht deal with LGBT/diverse books.

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz

220px-Aristotle_and_Dante_Discover_the_Secrets_of_the_Universe_cover

Be that as it may, I want to go and read this book blindly. I know that this book deserves to be on this list, which is why I included it. I just know that it is worth reading, since based on the cover, it has won a lot of awards. If that doesn’t guarantee the book’s greatness, then I guess I have to see for myself.

And that is it for the meantime. I know there are a lot of great diverse books out there. I hope you could recommend some to me, because I really want to read more when it comes to diverse books. Leave them down in the comments. ♡

Brb

6 thoughts on “Random Recommendations: Diverse Books Galore

  1. Great list! Simon vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda and Aristotle and Dante Discover The Secrets of the Universr are two bools I want to read as soon as possible! If you’re looking for other diverse books you should check out Trick by Natalia Jaster (I seriously cannot recommend this one enough) or The Archer’s Heart by Astrid Amara; both feature lgbtq themes and the latter is set in an indian-inspired world.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve read nothing but great things on Simon vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda and I hate myself for still not getting around it (and never even finding it on local bookstores.. ugh). Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe is another book I’ve been interested to try.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I haven’t read any of these books here!! 😦
    I’ve heard that yeah, Ari and Dante is a really good diverse book ^_^
    I see that David Levithan usually writes a lot of diverse books too – so I’ve assumed he’s great at writing diverse books – glad to know that’s true! 😀
    I think you’re right with Simon not being able to carry the book by himself – I haven’t finished reading Carry On (indefinite hiatus), but I can say that all the moments I’ve seen Baz in have been my favourite moments so far! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

