Top Ten Tuesday: Songs I Wish Were Books

Aye

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish.

Who doesn’t listen to a song and think, “Hey. This could be a great book.”? I mean, if you have not thought about it, maybe you haven’t found the perfect song that makes the words flow like wild from that brain of yours. But in my case, songs always get me in the mood to write. When I listen to a song, I imagine an endless parade of characters. Each with different quirks, that is perfect for the song. At the same time, I think of the book that fits the song perfectly.

I have never been more inspired to do a Top Ten Tuesday because of these reasons:

1. It has really been a stressful week, despite the fact that it’s only Tuesday.

2. I  need a break. I even forgot to post some stuff for the book club, which screams bad hosting skills. 😦

3. I have been anticipating to do this post since… forever?

So as a break from my usual routine during my finals, here are some of the songs I wish were books. (I Β know. I should be studying for my finals. I already studied for my exam on Thursday so… )

Stressed Out by twenty one pilots
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pXRviuL6vMY

There are a lot of books out there that explain how hard it is to be someone growing up, but as the lyrics said: “Wish we could turn back time, to the good old days. When the mama sang us to sleep, but now we’re stressed out.” A song never hit me that hard. How I wished I had savored my childhood while it lasted. Plus with all the stress that college offers and all, I could really use a break.

Rather Be by Clean Bandit featuring Jess Glynne
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m-M1AtrxztU

I have crafted a lot of poems because of this song. And this February, it has officially been stuck in my head for two years. The only thing left is to turn into a book. Maybe where the girl travels around the world, soul searching and all, but still feels incomplete. Β I guess the story goes from there. It sounds like a YA bestseller. (A fangirl can dream, okay?)

Raindrops by SNBRN featuring Kerli
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KmV4S0cckCI

A book where it just rains. And about fashion. Because you just want to walk a runway when you listen to this song. It sounds so hipster-ish, but at the same time, it is ridiculously perfect for those rainy days where you can say, “Can we stay like this forever?”

Shake It Out by FlorenceΒ + The Machine
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WbN0nX61rIs

You can compare this song to battling your inner demons, and it really speaks to me as a song that lets you find yourself amidst all the chaos that is happening in our world right now. So deep yet so reachable. WHERE IS MY WRITING PEN?

Sweet Disposition by The Temper Trap
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jxKjOOR9sPU

This is the song that makes you get in the mood to do stuff, because it inspires you to do stuff. In the movie (500) Days of Summer, this song plays while Tom teaches Summer about the city’s architecture style. If that’s not romantic enough, try playing this song as a wedding march or something. That will probably tug a few heartstrings. Or you could just let it play while you’re pulling out an all-nighter. That works, too. It’s like a title for the book with a lot of perfect, romantic moments. I like that.

Lonely Hearts Club by Marina and the Diamonds
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NeDe89NnC9M

I am aware of a book’s existence, but I don’t think it delivered the same thoughts that I had for a song like this. I mean, I took the meaning literally and figuratively. I think I saw a French movie like this song, though. The plot was really similar, but I see it in book form as somewhat of a club, and they meet there. Then it’s all dramatic, and “Do you want to be with somebody like me?”. That kind of drama.

Her Love Is My Religion by The Cab

The Cab has a lot of songs that I want as books, but this one ruled out every song. I mean, has there ever been a book where a guy just expresses every step of falling in love? Similar to how contemporaries often revolve about girls falling in love with the most handsome guy in school. I want a book where a guy finds a girl beautiful, where the reader falls in love with him at the same time, because of his passion to make the girl happy. Yes, sounds like an interesting premise?

Young Volcanoes by Fall Out Boy
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2ZvHkOAtUYQ&oref=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.youtube.com%2Fwatch%3Fv%3D2ZvHkOAtUYQ&has_verified=1

Perfection beyond comprehension, if used in the right book. The song screams to me as a book about friendships. And a rebellious friendship at that. I mean, we all belonged in a clique, gang, or squad at one point right? And in that group of friends, there were times where we just go with the wind and do some stuff to our heart’s content? Not specifically a road trip, but in one of those days where you decided to come home late just to go stargazing with them in the middle of the quad? Okay, seriously. Do I need to write a book already?

Waiting for Love by Avicii

This one is not specifically a romantic love story, but rather just a story about love. Love that revolves around family, or a story about fantasy and the background music plays while they go on an epic quest. I actually pitched this song as a background to a story about a boy who loved books because of his mother. Then they changed it without notifying me. Whoops sorry. Got a little personal.

Hey Stephen by Taylor Swift
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W29YvQEwF7s

When I played this song,Β I instantly fell in love. I know, I’m a huge sucker for contemporaries and best friend turned love relationships. Sue me.


Guess that’s it, then? How about you? What songs do you picture as books? I would love to hear your story pitches!

Brb

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Songs I Wish Were Books

  1. Oh no, I’m so sorry to hear this has been a stressful week for you already 😦 I hope it’ll get better ❀
    I really like the Cab, and that song especially! This premise you made up for it sounds like the kind of book I would love to read. so…write it? :p

    Like

  2. Wonderful choices! I haven’t heard majority of these (where on earth am I?). I really like Sweet Disposition. My choices are (sorry for my old song choices. haha!):
    *All of Me – John Legend
    *Unbreak my Heart -Toni Braxton
    * Bohemian Rhapsody- Queen
    *Teardrops of My Guitar – Taylor Swift
    *Out of my League – Stephen Speaks
    *Revenge Is Sweeter than you ever were – The Veronicas
    *Tenerife Sea – Ed Sheeran
    *She Will Be Loved – Maroon 5
    *Promise Me – Beverley Craven
    * Almost Over You – Sheena Easton

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh dear me, I screeched happily when I saw Twenty One Pilots and Fall Out Boy on this list. πŸ˜› Also, I’m happy to learn that I’m not the only one with Rather Be stuck in my head nonstop. It’s just such a great song!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It’s so interesting that you mentioned Marina & the Diamonds because when I listened to her second album my mind immediately jumped to : “what if they made this into a musical ?” If you follow the songs, there is a bit of a story so it just made sense to me. And I loooove Twenty One Pilots so, good choice there πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

