Book Haul #2 : A Semi-Birthday Book Haul

Book Haul

October has been really good to me. It is so amazing because even though it practically sucked out all of my energy and willpower to keep my head in the game (finals, ugh), I was showered with books! Plus it’s my birthmonth. Normally, I get 1-2 books whenever it’s my birthday but surprisingly, I felt like a superhero summoning all of the amazing books. This book haul will sound crazy because I swear, I only spent a little bit around $5, and most of it are not even presents. I have a total of 9 books for October. It sounds crazy because in my first haul, it took me 3 months to even haul 10. It would have been more but my birthday bookstore trip was postphoned to November. On the bright side, I’m officially legal, which means I can go get a job to buy more books. Yay? Hahaha. Anyways, here is my book haul. (Linked to their Goodread’s page)

Starting off with some historical books I got:

20151028_164055

Assassinations and Conspiracies by Manuel F. Martinez

It’s a book about famous assassinations here in the Philippines. I found it alone in the corner of the nearby bookstore at school. I still had that Heneral Luna movie hangover so I decided to buy it. Surely enough, the general has one chapter dedicated for his assassination.

Heneral Luna: The History Behind The Movie by Vivencio Jose, Ruby Rosa A. Jimenez

Well duh. Movie hangover + increasing hunger for history = Heneral Luna book. If the people who saw the movie don’t like books, I still suggest they read it. Heneral Luna craving all around.

Next are the books that I (apparently) got from my grandmother who lives in the States. She sent some books and I was given the freedom to choose what I wanted to keep for myself. The rest goes to my cousins. I picked:

20151028_163820

Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson

Because I needed more books other than Romeo and Juliet to sustain the classic-ness of my shelf. But then, who am I kidding? That cover is gorgeous.

Old Yeller by Fred Gipson

The dog was calling me.

The Origin of Species by Charles Darwin

My inner history nerd was calling me. So I picked it up and I will never look at our species the same way again. It was so sweet because my uncle actually left sticky notes and underlines on some of the pages.

Now for the YA part of this haul.

20151028_165814

I received my very first ARC which was Underneath Everything by Marcy Beller Paul. I had to pick it up from the post office because I apparently needed to? Our customs kind off sucks though. But it was worth it! It was signed and everything. It was so beautiful, I cried.

Next up, the loot I won from Czai, the awesome person behind The Blacksheep Project . (Her blog is amazing and I would definitely be clicking that link to her blog now. You can continue with my haul later, hahaha) As if a present sent by the book gods, the package arrived exactly on my birthday. I got:

20151028_165559

The Future of Us by Jay Asher and Carolyn Mackler

My classmates immediately called dibs on who gets to read it first. As soon as I told them the premise, being programmers and everything, they got curious as to how the authors incorporated details about the internet in 1996.

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

Best book of 2014, I was told. I really want to gnaw it. Ahhh so many books.

And finally, my mom agreed to let me buy at least one book since she postphoned the bookstore trip. The book I got was:

20151028_165830

The Manifesto on How To Be Interesting by Holly Bourne.

Oh the crown jewel of this haul. Ever since I saw it on the bookstore, it has wondered off a lot. And then we finally met, when I put it on my priority list. Best decision ever.

So that’s my October Book Haul everyone. 🙂

20151028_163434

It feels so good to even get that many books. I can’t for November. I am still crossing my finger because I hope to get a scholarship so that my mom would finally buy me that set of John Green’s books. Ayeeee. Plus, there’s that birthday haul still. EUREKA.

I just solved the mystery of book hauls.

BrbUPDATE: I did get my scholarship. I am now deemed worthy to buy John Green’s books. Huzzah! I am also extending my giveaway until Nov. 8 🙂 Good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

5 thoughts on “Book Haul #2 : A Semi-Birthday Book Haul

  1. congrats on your first ARC!! 😀 It was really awesome that the books made it to you on your birthday!! I hope you enjoy both of them and all those books you got.. I also have The Manifesto on How to be Interesting.. bought it a few months ago and still haven’t read it, haha.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

