My First Time @ MIBF

I started to write this post before going to MIBF. I had to wait for my mom to come home and while she was doing that, I managed to get my best friend to tag along with me. She is always available on such short notice and I love her for that. It is my first time to go to MIBF, and of course I was scared. I don’t know if it will be like that one time I got traumatized by book sales so I don’t know what to expect.


Okay, it was definitely fun while it lasted. I just realized that I didn’t take any pictures at all because my phone takes crappy photos. Bit painful. Then I guess I just have to narrate the whole thing.

For the information of everyone, MIBF stands for “Manila International Book Fair” and it was held at the SMX Convention Center at the SM Mall of Asia. Despite celebrating it’s 36th anniversary, and me having lived in Manila since forever, it is hard to believe I have only been there yesterday. But not to brag, yes. It just happened.

MIBF-2015

Despite having attended a lot of other conventions, *cough* anime *cough*, I was still afraid of crowds because who knows what will happen at a book fair? I already presumed that there will be a lot of people because:

  1. There’s an ongoing sale for two of the biggest bookstores.
  2. There’s a lot of book signing events.
  3. A lot of Filipino bloggers have been talking and anticipating it.
  4. Who resists a book sale?

tumblr_mlh96kFE0z1r8xr82o1_500

Nervously, my best friend and I went to Fully Booked’s booth first. We immediately blended in with the crowd and I noticed that most of the YA books have been scattered all over the place. It was not a neat site and my inner self was dying to pick up the books and arrange them in the right order. But then again, I was just there to buy books. I browsed for the books on my priority list, specifically the ones on the Top 5. I kept myself calm and collected, while occasionally picking up a new release and then cussing out loud. (I know. Rotten to the core //shot) I was briefly disappointed because I was man-hunting Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews and I found nothing. There were a lot of books on the priority list that showed up and went through my hands but they were hardbound. Not that I have any issues with hardbound books but I was on a tight budget.

tumblr_ll9n6po4pR1qb7eqw

My only consolation was to buy paperbacks so as to buy more books. So after an hour, I originally settled to buy Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta and The Blood of Olympus by good ol’ Uncle Rick Riordan. I was already going to pay when I spotted All The Bright Places shining on the book stand. I immediately dropped the two books in my hand and grabbed the copy of All The Bright Places. I did not care if it was hardbound copy or a paperback because next to Me and Earl and the Dying Girl, All The Bright Places is on the tip top spot. I mentally said sorry to the books that I dropped while paying the cashier. Turns out the book was in paperback and I was happy to give my cash away. I shocked my best friend because it turns out that I dropped the books like a ninja. Like it was just a whim. But the rush was real.

giphy 1

Then we went to the other one, National Bookstore, which is where I usually buy my books. I expected a lot of titles that they usually don’t bring out but alas, the books were too few. I was lucky enough to get a copy of Every Day by David Levithan. The books were also in quite a mess. But I have to say that both lines for payment on the bookstores’ booths were pretty smooth and very fast indeed. I was in awe.

But our adventure does not stop there. We went inside the mall and crossed to the other side to visit a Fully Booked branch located there. And guess what? There’s also a sale ongoing. How I wished I stayed there. I saw new titles and books that were not on the MIBF stall. I said to my best friend, “If they have Me and Earl and the Dying Girl here I am going to cry so hard.” Luckily, I didn’t find a copy. But I did find a lot of other books that were on my priority list. It is still a mystery to me on why a Why We Broke Up softbound is pricier than that of the hardbound. Logic? I guess?

tumblr_naviuyFQru1sewiyco1_r1_500

I finally called my mom to pick us up but then it started to rain. My best friend thought of the same thing and she shared my sentiments. NO. NOT THE BOOKS. MY BABIES. I would rather get a cold rather than to let my books get wet. It was a really bad thunderstorm. So when I saw my mom, we raced to the car. I got super wet, like I just took a shower and my clothes just had a lot of stuff to deal with. BUT I SAVED MY BOOKS. NOT A DROP OF WATER ON THEM.

Here’s my loot for MIBF 2015:

IMG_20150921_090720

Oh such pretty babies. They are now happily stacked on my shelves. But I have All The Bright Places with me because I just didn’t want to leave with an empty bag. Plus the book is so pretty ❤

What people should have told me is that the amount of books to choose from was too overwhelming. Just ask my best friend, she had a hard choosing between Neil Gaiman’s books, a Doctor Who novella, and The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer. I should have saved more money. Then again there is a cut price sale here until the 30th so who knows. Finally, a book haul post? Hahaha. We’ll see. But all is well and we love MIBF. I just wish that I have a camera with me so I could have had recap the whole experience in full detail. Me and my best friend will definitely be back next year. It was a blast of adrenaline. Nonetheless, another bookish first and adventure. Till the next one! ❤

Brb

14 thoughts on “My First Time @ MIBF

          1. Oh my. I checked the book that I would really want to buy, it’s Mitch Albom’s new book, and it costs more than 600! So I think I would again sadly ignore these sales. 😦

            Liked by 1 person

  1. I was only able to attend the book fair once. Like you, I lived in the metro all my life but never heard of the MIBF until about two years ago. There were so many books, it’s difficult to choose! Great choices though, glad you found the ones you wanted 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

