Fangirl Corner: Humphrey Bogart

Fangirl Corner

This week on my Fangirl Corner, I will be featuring one of Hollywood’s greatest icons.

If you don’t know who he is, then I will presume that you have not lived your life to the fullest yet. Calling his movies “the best” is an understatement. The movies he made is on the top of Hollywood’s greatest films. But let me break it down for you. Casablanca, The Maltese Falcon, The Treasure of Sierra Madre. Ever heard of it? Well presuming that you are still utterly clueless, his name is Humphrey Bogart.

e6143c9d338644844c0c6a051019d617

Being a film geek, I should have known of Bogart earlier. I boasted that I have a ridiculous amount of knowledge about film and that I knew of the classics. Yet, how can one say that she knows of the classics when one doesn’t even know who Humphrey Bogart is? I must be shunned. Nevertheless, I am now in lieu with the classics and I know what I am talking about.

I first encountered Humphrey Bogart whilst reading Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock by Matthew Quick. Leonard Peacock had a Bogart-fanatic neighbor called Walt, who I presumed grew up while Bogart shined on the big screen. They had this conversation that sounded so true and realistic, then Leonard said that it just consisted of Humphrey Bogart quotes. Leonard left Walt a hat; A Bogart hat. I kept on wondering what was so special about Humphrey Bogart that made Leonard, a teen of my age, appreciate and idolize his work.

giphy (1)

It intrigued me so much that I decided to download the classics. Citizen Kane, Casablanca, Singin’ In The Rain, 12 Angry Men, It’s A Wonderful Life, and Gone With The Wind. Of course I started binge-watching with Casablanca because it has Bogart in it. I was hesitant of course, since I am sailing in uncharted waters, and I don’t know what I am getting myself into. Much like when I am told to read this book or watch that series or anime.

tumblr_n54rykbYrn1txlckto1_400

To not further bore you, I did enjoy Casablanca quite a lot. It did not bother me that it was in black and white or the fact that the screen’s aspect ration is 4:3. It was perfect that way. I was so engrossed with the story because I recognized the quotes from Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock. That’s what Walt was saying. That’s what Leonard was saying. But they never narrated how the quote sounded more genuine when Bogart said it. The film was so beautiful. It hit me right down to the core that I ignored the rest of the movies I wanted to see after it.

tumblr_inline_ml1v0n0vk11qz4rgp

I immediately got The Maltese Falcon and The Big Sleep. More quotes from Walt and Leonard’s conversation sprung from my head. So these are the real Hollywood movies. Wow. Now I know why people are so cynical about movies. These guys made the bar too high up that no one could ever surpass it. Despite creating a crack on my dreams to become the director who made the greatest movie ever, Humphrey Bogart’s movies made me want to excel more. That man single handedly made my cinematic experience more vibrant than it already is.

giphy (2)

And here I am a year later with an extensive Humphrey Bogart film collection and a brain with more knowledge about the golden age of cinema.

(Of course I did watch Singin’ In The Rain and 12 Angry Men. But that’s a whole other story.)

See? I told you I could like anything. If Humphrey Bogart captured this fangirl’s heart, then it means his works are admirable and definitely worth watching over and over again. Here’s looking at you, kid. Give the classic film noir a chance. Who knows? Maybe you’ll stumble into your next favorite movie.

giphy (3)

I still have tons of stuff to do but hey, Humphrey Bogart is worth my writing time and he inspires me so much that I had to get this post out of my system. And since this is a Fangirl Corner, expect more admiration posts for the classic film actors.

Brb

6 thoughts on “Fangirl Corner: Humphrey Bogart

Leave a Reply

