Book Review: “The Perks of Being A Wallflower” by Stephen Chbosky

Book Review

*insert Imagine Dragon’s “It’s Time” here*

I should be studying but nope. Let me eat my Java program later. In beastmode. I know that I was gone for like most of the week because of personal reasons but I am back… and with a book review.

I would just like to say beforehand that this review is all about my praise for Perks of Being a Wallflower. I would not say any criticism because the book doesn’t need any of it. Also, aside from Chandler Bing, Charlie Kelmeckis is also my spirit animal.

Book

the-perks-of-being-a-wallflower-book-cgghyk6j

What is it about this book that made it stand out from every book that I have ever read?(Which I think is still quite few based on the book blogs/vlogs I stalk)

Quite frankly, it’s the true realism of what a wallflower sees. They don’t say anything, but they observe. I can relate so much to Charlie. Right down to my very core. The family relationship just speaks to me so much that I cried reading this novel. It’s like Stephen Chbosky stalked me in high school, even if the book was set way back when I was still something in the void. It’s like a voice, a voice for people who don’t talk too much. A voice for people who just keep quiet and observe their surroundings. High school is tough time, but reading how Charlie got through it, even if it was just the first year… meant something not just to me but to others as well.

I am also aware that this book has been a subject of a fair amount of issues. But let’s face it, the heavy smoking, the heavy drinking, the drug taking… These are just some of the issues that we are still facing today. The book is directed to teenagers because yes, some of the youth today are still acquainted with all those vices. Plus, take note that child molestation is a very serious case. Nevertheless, you don’t encounter a lot of books that tackle that certain issue. Just thank this book for getting the topic out.

Author

Brief info:

Stephen Chbosky  is an American novelist screenwriter, and film director best known for writing the New York Times bestselling coming-of-age novel The Perks of Being a Wallflower (1999), as well as for screenwriting and directing the film version of the same book, starring Logan Lerman, Emma Watson, and Ezra Miller.

(via Wikipedia)

Stephen Chbosky, author of THE PERKS OF BEING A WALLFLOWER, published by Pocket Books. Photo credit: Pocket Books/Doug Keeve.
Stephen Chbosky, author of THE PERKS OF BEING A WALLFLOWER, published by Pocket Books. Photo credit: Pocket Books/Doug Keeve.

Stephen Chbosky just empowered me, just like Charlie. He is that good of a writer. Excuse me for inserting a TFIOS reference here but Stephen Chbosky is my Peter Van Houten. And I mean that in a good way. I just want to meet him so badly in real life because he himself directed and wrote the screenplay for The Perks of Being A Wallflower movie adaptation. As Hazel Grace wrote in an e-mail: “Frankly, I’d read your grocery list.” If I ever will meet him, I’ll probably not stop because I’ll ask about movies, books and tons more of stuff. No, I won’t ask for a sequel because that ending was perfect.

The Perks of Being A Wallflower became my own version of An Imperial Affliction. It’s actually a good thing. Why? Because the story is worth re reading. Next to Harry Potter, if I get indecisive and I was going through this whole phase where I think that I don’t have anything to read, I always pick up The Perks of Being A Wallflower.

I do not regret anything. I’m giving this book:

Stars

Of course, as I mentioned earlier, would definitely reread over again.

So, any certain YA book/s where you look at the author as your idealistic “Van Houten”? What you can you say about the layout? Lol. Comment any of your thoughts below and now if you will excuse me,

Brb

5 thoughts on “Book Review: “The Perks of Being A Wallflower” by Stephen Chbosky

  1. I absolutely agree with you in this. This is the only book I have re-read and I love it so much… And even the movie was amazing (maybe because Stephen Chbosky directed and wrote the screenplay like you said). Also,right know It’s Time is in my head and knowing me it will be for a long time 😄

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

