Movie Review: (500) Days of Summer (2009)

Movie Review

It has been raining since Monday here in the Philippines. But it kinda stopped as I was typing this lol. Aye, the perks of living in an island near the Pacific. One minute it’s too hot and the next minute, it’s like a water world. I should know. I live near a river. But on that note, I am beginning to love the rain. It’s quiet, it’s peaceful, and everyone is just lazy because it’s cold. The rainy season is very lovable because it’s a day where you can curl up and read a book OR watch a movie. I never hesitate on a good movie, especially if it’s a chick flick. But not those chick flicks with the overused cliches, no. I love a good chick flick that brings out the feels in me. And that is, (500) Days of Summer starring Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Zooey Deschanel. unnamed (17)

Tom (Joseph Gordon-Levitt), greeting-card writer and hopeless romantic, is caught completely off-guard when his girlfriend, Summer (Zooey Deschanel), suddenly dumps him. He reflects on their 500 days together to try to figure out where their love affair went sour, and in doing so, Tom rediscovers his true passions in life.

via (google)

Continuation:

Both of them have different perceptions about love because Tom believes in faith while Summer does not. Tom believes that he will never truly be happy until the day he met “the one”. Summer, on the other hand, believes that it is a fantasy. Tom thought that Summer was “the one”. Yet Summer was not even looking for anything serious. It is a story of boy meets girl. But it is not a love story. The film’s sequence is not in chronological order and it shows the different days of Tom’s life that revolved around Summer during the 500 days. Tom wants to get her back because wants the good days he had with her. But little did Tom know, it’s not that easy.

_________________________________________________________________________________

When someone talks about this movie, I just cannot help but smile and reflect on how many times I have watched this movie. When I just can’t choose a movie, I always end up picking this one. I don’t know what magic it has with it but heck, I don’t care. It knows what I feel and I am watching it again so that I don’t feel bad about my indecisive nature (and believe me, I have like a hundred movies). It just gives the feels a lot. I laugh, I cry, I get mad, I get irritated, like when I watch it it’s always the first time. I laugh at Tom’s awkwardness. I cry as Tom tries to get over Summer. I get mad at Summer. I get irritated by her as much as Tom does. Tom is like the representation of all of the hopeless romantics (like myself) and I always root for romantics. But Summer… I would rather not say anything but I love how she grew in the story. I guess I would call it my downside point of this movie.

Tom and Summer learned something from each other that they both expressed better in other relationships. Especially Tom, who rooted for from the start.

What more can I say without spoiling the movie? The cast was superb and brilliant. Joseph Gordon-Levitt is the perfect Tom. He just nailed the role and he did it with finesse and class. I actually asked my friends about this and they said that if they found a Tom like Joseph Gordon-Levitt, they will never let him slip through their fingers. Zooey Deschanel did a wonderful job, too. Even though I didn’t like Summer, I loved Zooey. Her portrayal was sweet and heartfelt. She gave Summer the feeling of summer, warm and sunny like a dash of cool air. She was the perfect Summer, the one who you can say got away. (I made a joke. Because she kinda looks like Katy Pe- *shot*). Shoutout to Chloe Grace-Moretz who may I say is the most agreeable sister ever. Most of the quotes I got on this movie is from her winning delivery.

The writing style and the narrative was certainly fresh and innovative, which is why I consider this movie as an inspiration if I would work on something someday. No wonder these guys were hired to work for “The Fault in Our Stars”. Their minds are very talented and it was certainly a success for them. Kudos, and I hope to see more projects from them in the near future. Seriously, they are good. If they can get audiences hooked like that, they can always guarantee an audience in any movie that they will release.

Now the soundtrack is just hypnotizing. It was bubbly and realistically fit on the situations in the movie. Believe me, it did for me. It just fits like glue and it really released the vibrant summer feeling for this movie. Buy the soundtrack you guys. That is real music right there.

Overall, it is a brilliant movie. Hands down to everyone from the cast to the crew.

Rating: 8.1/10

Hey guys. Stay tuned. 😀

Leave a Reply

