Book Review: Robyn Schneider’s “The Beginning of Everything”

Book Review

In the spirit of Robyn Schneider’s visit here in the Philippines, I decided to review her book. Mind you, this is my first review ever. I actually bought the books and I was really excited to go. But due to my family’s prior commitments, I did not go to the book signing at Shangri-la. *le sob* I also admire the authors with her for the book signing: Melissa Kantor and Katie Cotugno. And also, other bloggers will be there. I could have met a lot of people.

Now I sound like a whiny baby. On to the review!

tumblr_inline_mu2kfjIn5V1qe13do

The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider

Synopsis:

Golden boy Ezra Faulkner believes everyone has a tragedy waiting for them—a single encounter after which everything that really matters will happen. His particular tragedy waited until he was primed to lose it all: In one spectacular night, a reckless driver shatters Ezra’s knee, his athletic career, and his social life.

No longer a front-runner for Homecoming King, Ezra finds himself at the table of misfits, where he encounters new girl Cassidy Thorpe. Cassidy is unlike anyone Ezra’s ever met—achingly effortless and fiercely intelligent.

Together, Ezra and Cassidy discover flash mobs, buried treasure, and a poodle that might just be the reincarnation of Jay Gatsby. But as Ezra dives into his new studies, new friendships, and new love, he learns that some people, like books, are easy to misread. And now he must consider: If one’s singular tragedy has already hit, what happens when more misfortune strikes?

Robyn Schneider’s The Beginning of Everything is a lyrical, witty, and heart-wrenching novel about how difficult it is to play the part that people expect, and how new beginnings can stem from abrupt and tragic endings.

(via epicreads)

My own copy with the pretty bookmark I bought last last Christmas.
My own copy with the pretty bookmark I bought last last Christmas.

What can I say about this book that hasn’t been said to it already? Gosh, I loved it to bits. It messed with my emotions so much that I hate the people who interrupt me while I was reading it. Also fun fact: It was released in the UK as Severed Heads, Broken Hearts. I thought Ezra Faulkner was your typical snobby boy turned emo but hey, I can see how he’s different. I cannot blame myself for this one because I watched Kingsman: The Secret Service before I read this book so I pictured Ezra Faulkner looking like Taron Egerton. I imagined him as the golden boy turned cane boy and I swear to God, it was a perfect match. But anyways, I liked how Ezra was able to speak up to himself and that somehow, he knew that some things are meant to be said and not just to be kept to yourself. I love how he falls in love with Cassidy Thorpe but I swear, I kinda err… didn’t trust Cassidy since the beginning. It’s just what she was saying didn’t fit certain contexts that made her feel trustworthy to me. The love for Ezra was real, but then again, the book is in Ezra’s narrative so who knows what Cassidy was thinking.

I also loved Toby, Ezra’s best friend. He was this cool genius who gave advice and of course, I as the reader, took it all to heart. I think that Toby and Cassidy are the key figures that made Ezra realize his capabilities. He was actually good at debate and he was really a good guy. After his tragedy, he made good choices and with Toby and Cassidy guiding him, he turned out okay.

I found it weird that I know all of Luke Sheppard’s movie viewings. He makes them watch classic movies, and no, not film noir. Definitely good movie choices. (At this point, I feel like such a nerd because I watched all of those movies before I even read The Beginning of Everything. But hey, who doesn’t like a good movie?)

AND well Robyn Schneider gosh, where have you been all my life? The writing was so good that I just can’t put the book down. It was funny, heartfelt and downright intellectual. I don’t know why but I laugh along with all those jokes, making the people around me uncomfortable because they thought I was going mental. But I don’t care. I have an odd sense of humor and the bubbles burst with me. I just want to get my hands on her other book, Extraordinary Means. Yes, if Robyn Schneider has another book out, I will definitely go for it. She writes so splendidly beautiful with the coolest transitions and the characters grow with every flip of the page. And I’m like… Wow. I picked out a real gem from the bookstore.

I recommend this to every reader out there with other book hangovers from particular John Green books or even Matthew Quick’s. I read this after I felt that Leonard Peacock had to go from my head. It’s cool, it’s kinda quirky, it will definitely be the book that will give you the feels, and it is definitely a good rainy day book reread.

It was a really sweet book on how everyone recovers from a certain tragedy, and how the thing you considered as your tragedy is actually someone else’s. The book is certainly appealing to the levels of my taste and if I could rate it, my reading experience with it is definitely 9/10 would read again and the book itself I rate 4.7/5.

There you have it. My first ever review. Oh gosh oh gosh. I did it!

Up next is a movie review. I really hope I could post it before school starts. But I really wanna buy books.

Thank you reading and I hope you stay tuned! XOXO

Leave a Reply

